It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey.

Last week I read:

liu

The Crane Wife by Sumiko Yagawa (fairy tale)

Seed by Seed: The Legend and Legacy of John “Appleseed” Chapman by Esmé Raji Codell (children’s non-fiction)

Seven Fathers by Ashley Ramsden (fairy tale)

Little White Duck: A childhood in China by Na Liu and Andrés Vera Martinez (children’s non-fiction)

Cardboard by Doug TenNapel (middle grade graphic novel)

Let’s Sing a Lullaby with the Brave Cowboy by Jan Thomas (children’s fiction)

The Three Bully Goats by Leslie Kimmelman (fairy tale retelling)

Fabulous Fishes by Susan Stockdale (children’s fiction)

Zora!: The Life of Zora Neale Hurston by Dennis Brindell (middle grade/YA non-fiction)

Fifty Cents and a Dream: Young Booker T. Washington by Jabari Asim (children’s non-fiction)

The First Year of Homeschooling Your Child by Linda Dobson (non-fiction)

Usborne the Children’s Book of Art by Rosie Dickins (children’s non-fiction)

 

Favorite Book(s) of the Week:

codell

I was trying to narrow this down to just one book but I couldn’t. Little White Duck, The Crane Wife, and Seed by Seed were my favorite reads of the week.

Since one of my current reads, Far From the Tree, is a tome (900+ pages), last week I decided to read other books at the same time. The next thing I knew, I’m reading four books at a time and that doesn’t include all the children’s books.

I’m currently reading:

mathis

Far From the Tree by Andrew Solomon (non-fiction)

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis

Mysterious Tales of Japan by Rafe Martin (folklore)

 

Listening to:

huang

The Little Red Guard: A Family Memoir by Wenguang Huang (non-fiction)

What’s next:

jones

It’ll probably be Howling’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. I plan on reading it with my daughter soon. After seeing the movie trailers for Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia, I think I’m going to add that to this week’s reading pile too.

What are you reading this week? 

23 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. You read a lot of stuff in the past week! I got through one audio book, and am now listening to Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. I am still reading Y: A Novel, but that that is not a surprise, because I am reading soooo slooowly :)

  2. WOW! That is a nice finished pile. Are you homeschooling? Just wondering. How is it going? The book club Mocha Girls Read is voting for Feb. book of the month and the 12 Tribes of Hattie is on the ballot as well as 10 other great titles.

  3. This is the second post I visited today that had The Twelve Tribes of Hattie — I’ll have to look into that.

    I’m curious about Seed by Seed. I read Michael Pollan’s Botany of Desire — he said that Johnny Applessed was curmudgeonly business man who spread hard apple cider, not healthy fruit. Even though that’s not what we were taught as children. Are they still teaching children that?

  4. Wow what an awesome reading week! I think I’m going to read Beautiful Creatures too since the movie is coming out. And I’m re-reading Warm Bodies & Carrie before their movies too.

  5. Wow! It looks like you’ve been reading lots of good books lately :) I just bought a copy of Howl’s Moving Castle for my reading and I’m super excited to read it (especially since it will be my first read by this author). I hope you enjoy it!!!

  6. Howl’s Moving Castle is the second book I bought for my new e-reader since at least half the bloggers I know are always raving about DWJ. I’m looking forward to seeing what everybody’s talking about!

  7. NO! I want to read Howl’s Moving Castle, too! But I need to go to the library and it’s closed on Fridays. I’m sure you will be on to the next fifth or sixth book beyond by the time I get it.

  8. I want to read Howl’s Moving Castle and I have the new Oprah book club book too. There are so many good books and not enough hours in the day!

Comments are closed.