NYE Read-a-thon

nye readathonJenn over at Picky Girl is once again hosting her New Year’s Eve Read-a-thon. As much as I like the idea of going out to celebrate New Year’s Eve, I really like the idea of being home tonight, wrapped in a cover, and getting 2013 off to a great start with a few books I want to read.

The only rule of the read-a-thon is to let others know you’re participating.

On Twitter, the read-a-thon’s hashtag is #nyereadathon

What are you doing tonight? Any special plans?

1st Update: I’m continuing The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg for tomorrow’s group read discussion. The book is so interesting, I think I’ll just finish it today.

Jenn’s Q & A for participants:

1. What are you reading today? The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg, some children’s books, and hopefully I’ll start reading Far From the Tree by Andrew Solomon.

2. Are you a comfy reader, or do you get dressed, wear shoes and socks, and sit in a straight back chair? Both. I started reading around 6 this morning while in my pjs. Now I’m dressed and will probably curl up on the couch with my reads.

3. Food. What will you be eating/imbibing today? This morning I had a slice of leftover pizza and coffee. Lunch will be anyone’s guess followed by tortilla soup for dinner.

4. Have you finished a book yet? Not yet but I am about 100 pages from the end of The Power of Habit.

5. What book do you want to be reading to close out 2012? That’s a good question. I don’t know. Whatever it is, I want it to be a good read.

2nd Update

I’ve finished two books since my last update: The Power of Habit and Each Kindness by Jacqueline Woodson. Both are really good books and brought my yearly book total to 250. Finally. Now I’m wondering if I should make another “books read” goal next year. And if so, what number?

pullmanNext up is Philip Pullman’s latest book, Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm. I’m homeschooling my youngest son and I want to re-read various fairy tales before I share them with him. I don’t plan on reading the whole book today since a few tales.

Jenn’s mini-questionnaire

1.  Have you napped yet? Or are you still going strong? I’m still going strong though I do take several breaks. I’m feeling a little sleepy right now so I’ll probably make me another pot of coffee.

2. Do you have a favorite book of 2012? If so, what is it? It’s hard to figure out a favorite book of the year. I don’t think I can pick just one.

3. Any reading goals for 2013?
I’ve been thinking about this question all day. I think instead of calling them reading goals, I’ll just call them “literary resolutions”. On the list: read from a bigger range of genres, read more from my tbr shelves, and read more books that are by LGBTQ writers or books that are LGBTQ related.

4. Is anyone listening to any audiobooks? Nope. If I listened to an audiobook right now, I would most likely fall asleep.

5. What book are you most excited about in 2013? That’s a great question. But seriously? I don’t know. There are so many great-looking books that I want to get to and many of them were published this year!

13 thoughts on “NYE Read-a-thon

  1. I used to spend all my NYEs reading my way to midnight, but then we made friends with my aunt’s neighbors and they throw such a fun, low key party that I wouldn’t dream of missing it, even if I do occasionally miss the more peaceful end to the year. Hope you enjoy your reading. Happy new year! :)

  2. Good luck with your reading! I’ve always had low-key NYEs, but not enough time to do a readathon. Usually we watch a movie, stop it to watch the ball drop, and then finish it and go to bed. That’s what my parents used to do too, so I guess I am just carrying on the tradition. The only difference being that we don’t watch old Westerns, which is what my dad used to always choose.

  3. Happy New Year! We did our last “Christmas” with my brother, his SO, and her daughter. It was fun to give the 12 year old new books for Christmas! Tonight is chili and wine and maybe a movie or maybe some reading or maybe more working in the 2013 Create Your Incredible Year workbook.

    I hope you have a wonderfully pleasant evening!

  4. I didn’t join the readathon because I had to work today (boo) but I did just finish Jellicoe Road (oh my god SO good!). Hope you’re having a fun and relaxng readathon and Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.