Sunday Salon: Exploring what comes next in a bookish way

sunday salonGood morning. The sun isn’t up yet, the radio is on, and my kids are already playing in their room. I’m alone at my desk, trying to get maybe an hour to myself before the day officially begins. And yes, I do have a cup of coffee right in front of me.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been thinking about 2013 and what I want to accomplish. The years are starting to blur together from lack of doing anything out of the ordinary. I want next year to be different so I decided to join Joy’s New Year’s Resolution Reading Challenge. It sounds too good to pass up.

NewYearBooks

Joy’s challenge starts December 26 and lasts until January 31 but readers can start now if they want. The goal is to help readers sustain their goals by reading a book on the same topic. There are different levels of participation and I decided to participate at the passionate (4 books) level.

Now only is there a reading challenge, there will also be a Twitter Chat on Wednesday evenings, starting this week. The group read-along of The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg will start January 2nd.  So there are a lot of ways to join this challenge and get the support you need for your resolutions.

            Here are my goals for 2013:

1. Conquer math. I’m getting tired of this being one of my goals every year. 2013 will be the year that I get through the math classes I need.

2. Eat healthier. I can be such a picky eater. It’s time for me to try new things and eat better so I plan on re-reading The Game-On Diet by Krista Vernoff to get me started in the right direction and use The Mom 100 Cookbook by Katie Workman.

3. Read 48 books from my shelves. So far this year, I’ve only read 29 books from my shelves.

4. Live in a space that I love.  I’m joining Apartment Therapy’s January Cure. I’m also re-reading Dominique Browning’s Around the House and In the Garden: A Memoir of Heartbreak, Healing, and Home Improvement.

5. Write more. I don’t write very often outside of blogging and school, but this year I wrote even less. That needs to change so I’m re-reading Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott and Courage and Craft by Barbara Abercrombie.

6. Think deeply about what comes next. I saw this resolution on Joy’s blog and decided to add it to the list.  I’m going to re-read The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and 344 Questions by Stefan G. Bucher. 344 Questions was highlighted on Brain Pickings which made me buy it. It’s basically a workbook that asks some pretty good questions.

So those are my resolutions for next year. Have you started making your resolutions yet? What are they?

48 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Exploring what comes next in a bookish way

  1. Oh boy. I have a list of goals myself, just haven’t posted yet, but I just added most of the books you are re-reading to my list for the year. Especially the writing ones sound really good. And I’ve been meaning to read The Happiness Project since it came out. Don’t you need teams for the Game On Diet? ;-)

  2. Welcome to the New Year’s Reading Challenge!

    First I’ve heard of the Game-On Diet but it looks like it could be fun!

    I re-read Bird by Bird this year — it looks like I want Courage and Craft on the list, too. That could be really helpful for where I want my writing to go in 2013.

    I found The Happiness Project useful. I have Happier at Home sitting here, but it’s probably going to be a few more months before I get to it. I suspect Around the House and in the Garden would be an excellent companion.

    344 Questions looks really fun!

    I’m looking forward to keeping up with you as we move through this challenge together!

    • Hey, Joy! Thanks for hosting this challenge. It’s such a great idea! I’ve found The Game-On Diet to be hard but a good way to jump-start my way to healthy eating in the past. I haven’t read Bird by Bird in years so I’m looking forward to reading Lamott’s wiry and funny book again. For some reason, I have no desire to read Happier at Home even though I really enjoyed The Happiness Project. I plan on dipping in and out of the book, reading only the chapters that are useful to me this time around.

      I can’t wait to see what 2013 brings! Good luck on your goals.

  3. I’ve made my reading resolutions but not the other kind. Fitness is a top priority for 2013; I need a new fitness plan. And I need to slow down some, and ramp up in other ways. And most importantly, I think, I need to articulate specific goals because that’s the best way for me to actually accomplish anything!

  4. What a great list of goals! I haven’t sat down to work on mine yet – I have some bookish intentions, but not overall intentions for the new year. I will need to check out 344 QUESTIONS and THE GAME-ON DIET sounds like so much fun! I have the Power of Habit in audio, so popping over to Joy’s blog next to check out the reading challenge. I am so terrible with reading challenges, though …!

    • Belle, don’t think of it as a reading challenge. Just think of it as a way to help with your goals and books are involved. But if you wanted, you could just read one book and I’m sure The Power of Habit counts.

  5. You should participate in NaNoWriMo next year! It’s really fun. I don’t usually make resolutions, but I do want to read more current releases next year. This year it seems like all I read was old books–like, books older than me ;) –and it’s time to change it up, I think.

    • Tasha, I always want to participate in NaNoWriMo but I would rather write essays than a novel. Have they changed the rules? I can’t wait to see what you end up reading. The only time I end up reading new releases is when it’s children’s books or graphic novels. Good luck!

  6. I’m not much of a resolution maker but I’m always trying to live a more healthful lifestyle. I know I’m doing better than most, but I always think there is room for improvement. And then there is the never-ending struggle for balance among work, family, and blogging. De-stressing could be a good goal.

  7. Good luck with your goals! I hope to read more books from my own shelves and to get back to writing my thoughts about books I’ve read! Happy Holidays!

  8. What a cool idea…I love the reading tie-in to each resolution. Good luck with everything!

    And Merry Christmas!!

  9. Could you secretly be the daughter I never had?! I plan to write more next year, too. I actually signed up for an essay writing class next year! Retreading Bird by Bird is a great idea.

  10. Great resolutions, good luck with them. I like the idea of “Living in a space that I love”. I’ve been wanting to re-organize my basement and my computer room. I think now is the time. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year :)

  11. I love seeing other people’s goal lists and these are good, solid goals. :)

    I like the idea of having something like cracking math on the list. I think for me it be dedicating the time to learning Ruby properly. I really should try and read more of my own books next year though, I know most of mine came from the libraries – great for them and my green credentials but my bookcases are overflowing!

  12. Oh man. If I could only conquer math one year. I just feel like my odds are bad. I feel like if I were going to conquer math I’d have done it by now.

  13. I love your resolutions. I am still giving mine some thought, but I’m hoping for 2013 to be a big year. I’m going to check out that 344 Questions book, it sounds interesting.

  14. I think these are really great goals! And this is such a great idea for a challenge! I wish I had seen it before, but my reading for January is already a little too full to add anything else.

Comments are closed.