Sunday Salon

sunday salonGood morning! It’s been so long since I’ve blogged. Now that finals (and the semester) are behind me, it feels good to be back.  The next semester doesn’t start until February, so I can read as much as I want with no worries! Yay!

bachmann

Now that I have the time, I’m going to read the books that I was in the middle of a few weeks ago. Elizabeth McCracken’s The Giant’s House was a book I was reading with Carrie (Nomadreader). I’m also going to return to The Peculiar by Stefan Bachman which got off to a great start. Love in a Time of Homeschooling by Laura Brodie is today’s book while A Christmas Carol is one more that I plan to start later on this week for the Dickens in December read-along.

I can’t wait to catch up with everyone’s posts and see what you all have been up to. What are you reading today?

26 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Morning! I hope your holiday break is great — it’s so lovely to be able to read as you want and not worry. I reread White is for Witching today, which was awesome, PLUS I found a $25 Barnes and Noble gift card in its pages, which I apparently had been using as a bookmark the last time I read it. Hooray!

  2. How nice to have time to read again! :) I started The Girl Who Navigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making today. I needed a light fantasy right now and I’ve been dying to read this one — not sure why it sat on my shelves for so long unread! Have a great week. :)

  3. I’m still reading the same books I’ve been reading for the last month or so :p My reading has just sucked so bad lately! I don’t know if I ever thanked you for the beautiful card!! But if I didn’t, thank you so so so much :D It made my day when I got it :)

  4. I am still reading Te Raven’s Heart, but I hope to finish that one soon and begin The Midwife’s Tale. It sounds like you are reading some great books and I wish you a lot of luck with them. I have heard so many great things about The Giant’s House.

  5. Hooray for the end of the semester reading time! I have to finish up grading and work through this week, but I’m really looking forward to having a week and a half off after that. I’ll be curious to hear your final thoughts on The Giant’s House too. Happy reading!

  6. The Peculiar has a terrific cover.

    A Christmas Carol is a terrific choice. I’m always surprised how good it is as a book since I’m so used to seeing movie and theatrical versions.

  7. No reading for me! I’m just getting my life back after my semester ended this morning. Got all the grades turned in and now I can concentrate on the new gig and getting back into my books! Congrats on finishing up the semester, and enjoy your reading!

  8. Oh, looks like you have some great reading time ahead of you! It feels so good after a semester to just sit and enjoy books!
    Happy holidays to you and yours! :)

  9. I finished Bleak House (loved!) and then took a break but I think I am falling into something dark and sinister with The Gargoyle. and then Great Gatsby on audio! Merry Christmas Darlin’!

  10. Enjoy your time off. I took a class last semester and it kept me busy, along with my full time job. I was so happy to have the course finished so I could go back to reading whatever I liked instead of studying. I hope you have a wonderful holiday from school. I go back at the end of January so will be savoring the next few weeks of freedom!

Leave a Reply

