Sunday Salon: Looking forward to December and beyond

sunday salonDecember is just beginning but I’m already feeling the sense of renewal that January brings. Part of the reason for that feeling is that the anthropology program is changing at my school so I have to stay on top of those changes to plan my classes for next year. I’ve also decided to take a gap year from school starting next June so I’m trying to figure out what I want to do with that year away from school. It’s not too early to start planning.

Next week is my last week of classes and then I have almost two months off from school. So between studying for finals and figuring out what to do for the holidays, I’m trying to decide what to do with the rest of my time this month. I know reading will be a big part of my vacation.

Last month I read a measly twelve books, almost all of them were children’s books. My favorite book this month was the middle grade modern classic, Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis. Looking at my Goodreads yearly goal, I’m about 32 books short of my goal of reading 250 books this year. I doubt even with my vacation starting in the middle of the month, I’ll be able to make that goal.

bachmann

Today, I’m curling up with The Giant’s House by Elizabeth McCraken. It’s Carrie’s (Nomadreader) November pick for her Backlist Book Club. I’m really enjoying it. The writing is beautiful; the protagonist is flawed but so very real. I’m pretty sure I’m going to buy this after I finish reading it. After this, I plan on starting The Peculiar by Stefan Bachman, another book that’s landed on a few best of 2012 lists.

What are your plans for December? What are you reading today?

32 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Looking forward to December and beyond

  1. I love the idea of a backlist book club – who knows, I may even join in for a selection or two next year. As far as December goes, I’m reading just one book right now (Without Reservations by Alice Steinbach) and am considering devoting the rest of the month to Clarissa… my guilt has been kicking in again ;-)

  2. Yes, December is renewal indeed! I’m making sort of an advent calendar for myself, trying to bring some personal light into this darkest time of the year. Some of the activities will get me reading more. Vegging less! You always post such interesting perspectives!

  3. I think you need to have a different attitude: 12 “measly” books? I think you should say 12 mere books. Mere sounds a little less harsh on yourself and also 32 short of 250? Boo effing hoo! :P I’m looking at just 75 and I’m going to be happy with that, lady. ;)

  4. I just took a nice long walk this afternoon to take advantage of the glorious weather we’ve been having in Chicago to end November/start December – and I caught up on some podcasts and started the audiobook version of Terry Pratchett’s Snuff, too. I plan to sit down and read a book I got from LibraryThing’s Early Reviewer program, too, though of course – I find that I don’t want to read that book right now!

  5. I’m so glad to hear you’re enjoying The Giant’s House! I adored it and really appreciated our conversations about it thus far (and look forward to continuing them once you finish!) Congratulations on a gap year too–there are so many exciting possibilities! I’m not going to meet my goal of reads for 2012, but I am happy to be currently reading at a faster pace than I have in months. I hope it continues into 2013 and that it will be the best reading year yet!

  6. When I saw the name Bachmann I instantly thought about Stephen King. Bachman was a pseudonym he used years ago. The Peculiar sounds like a wonderful book.
    Thanks again for joining us for the Dickens in December event. I hope you’ll enjoy it.

  7. This year, I plan on economizing with the Christmas spending, and spending lots of time at home with a good friend and the family. I want to do all the cooking for the first time at my own home, and not at my parent’s homes. It’s a bittersweet Christmas because my Step-Father passed away last week, and I just flew home from Atlanta from his service. I am glad to be home, but so tired and behind, you know?

    I will be listening to some of Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins this week, and I am reading The Raven’s Heart. That’s all I can do right now, reading goals be damned!!

    1. Oh, Heather. I’m so sorry about your stepfather’s passing. *hugs* I’m trying to spend less this year for Christmas too. Maybe I’ll make presents instead of spending money. I know what you mean about reading goals and being tired. I hope you’re able to get some rest and peace during this hectic holiday season.

  8. Over 200 books and you are in school? I am officially jealous! 200 was my goal this year, and I am going to be about 40 books short, down over 20 from last year.

    Enjoy your two months off of school! You definitely deserve it!

  9. I’m reading The Giant’s House too, but I’ve been distracted by Yoko Ogawa’s books. Once the semester is over, I’ll go back and finish it. Twelve books is not measly by any means. Some people don’t read twelve books in a year.

  10. I’m also kind of fast-forwarding to January renewal season, but I do that a lot of years. I love the feeling of new years and new plans. Good luck with the end of your semester!

  11. I’m definitely looking forward to January. It’s been crazy this year and I’m hoping next year will be better. The Peculiar sounds pretty interesting. I love that cover.

Comments are closed.