Thankfully Reading Weekend – Day 2

It’s day two and here’s the books I’ve read so far:

Lies, Knives, and Girls in Red Dresses by Ron Koertge

The Beetle Book by Steven Jenkins

The House Held Up by Trees by Ted Kooser

Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns: A Muslim Book of Colors by Hena Khan

One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo

All of these books are on various best of 2012 lists. So far, my favorite book is probably The House Held Up by Trees. It’s a picture book. Lies, Knives, and Girls in Red Dresses is a retelling of various fairy tales in free verse. This book ended up being a “meh” kind of read. There were some tales that I thought were very clever and a great addition while others fell flat. The illustrations by Andrea Dezso were lovely.

My e-license for The Mighty Miss Malone ended up expiring so I think I’ll either start reading The Peculiar or The Buddha in the Attic.

Today’s Thankfully Reading Challenge is all about being thankful. Jen asks what book(s) are we most thankful for this year. I found this question to be a little hard. I had to go through my Goodreads account and see which books really stand out. I found several. I’m most thankful for Ichiro by Ryan Inzana (I really need to review this book), How Children Succeed by Paul Touch (another book I need to review), How Georgia Became O’Keefe by Karen Karbo, and No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Micheux, Harlem Bookseller by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson. I think I’m thankful for all of these books for the same reason: they taught me something that I didn’t know before while being entertaining and engaging.

What book are you most thankful for this year?

6 thoughts on “Thankfully Reading Weekend – Day 2

  1. One of my favourites is Carrie Snyder’s The Juliet Stories, an interconnected set of stories that chronicles Juliet’s coming-of-age: quietly powerful and beautifully written. I wish I’d thought of joining this readathon earlier on, but will make a mental note for next year: sounds like you had a great time turning those pages!

Comments are closed.