Thankfully Reading Weekend 2012

Happy Thanksgiving! The turkey finished cooking in the wee hours of the morning, the dressing was done yesterday, the sides won’t be cooked until later on today, so I have free time to read! I know what I’m thankful for. I have four days of no school bliss ahead of me and I’ve been eyeing my shelves.

Right now I’m currently in the middle of The Mighty Miss Malone by Christopher Paul Curtis. It’s a sequel of sorts of Curtis’s earlier book, Bud, Not Buddy which I read with my son and loved so much. Other books in my stack this weekend include:

  • The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier (e-book)
  • Delicate Edible Birds by Lauren Groff
  • The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka (re-read)
  • The Madonnas of Echo Park by Brando Skyhorse (re-read)

 

  • Ghetto Cowboy by G. Neri
  • Nacropolis by Jeet Thayil
  • The Lost City of Z by David Grann (e-book and in print)

  • House of Stone: A Memoir of Home, Family, and a Lost Middle East by Anthony Shadid
  • The Peculiar by Stefan Bachmann

There’s no way that I can read this many books in four days but it’s nice to have some variety. They all look so good but I can finish reading two of them, I’ll be happy.  I can’t wait to curl up in bed with a book.

What are you reading this Thanksgiving weekend?

20 thoughts on “Thankfully Reading Weekend 2012

  1. Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy! (Not one of these is on my stack but they are nearly all familiar, either I’ve enjoyed something else of the author’s work, or I’ve picked them up and considered them, or I remember others discussing how good they were. Great combo!)

  2. It seems you have a great selection ahead of you! I like to have a lot to choose from, too.
    This weekend is not Thanksgiving here, but I’ll be doing some reading too, mainly trying to catch on with all the egalleys on my ereader!

  3. Looks like you have some lovely books picked out. Enjoy your luxurious reading time and Thanksgiving! I can’t decide what to read this weekend, but maybe something light and holiday themed. Cheers!

  4. I loved the Buddha in the Attic and despite the gritty topic of Narcopolis was impressed by the writing and treatment of those living in the underworld of society. I also read the Illumination because it deals with pain. I think I need to read it again and more slowly-I should have got more out of it than I did. I look forward to your thoughts on it. The Lauren Groff title is intriguing, I did read The Monsters of Templeton but I’ll wait to see what you think of this one. And I’m sure you’ll enjoy The Lost City of Z. I have a review it on my blog.
    Happy reading. My current reads are here: http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.ca/2012/11/loot-14-20-november-weekly-event-co.html

  5. I’m thankfully reading too, around doing little odd jobs and serving our neighbor who just came in from the hospital. Plus, my poor husband didn’t have any apple pie yesterday, so of course I had to make him one today! :)

    I loved The Mighty Miss Malone, as did my class when I read it to them last year. The author came to speak at our school and he was a huge inspiration!

Leave a Reply

