What I’m grateful for

With Thanksgiving coming up, I thought today would be a great day to post about what I’m grateful for.

What I’m not grateful for:

1. The fact that I have the flu. Last week I felt like I was coming down with something and now I have it. I have two major tests coming up next week (after having one last week) and all I want to do is sleep. Instead, I’m up and studying.

2. The fact that Graphic Novels Week is a bust. Damn I had plans for this week. I’m still going to post reviews as soon as I can. At this point, NaNoBloPoMo is also a bust.

3. I’m a little ungrateful for school right now. This semester has been filled with tests. Test after test after test. I love my classes but this is getting pretty ridiculous. I’ve even had a class where the professor added an extra test.

4. My lack of reading. I haven’t finished an adult book in probably a month, which leads me to . . .

What I’m most grateful for:

1. Jen’s Thankfully Reading Weekend event. After I take my last test (of the week) on Wednesday and finish preparing our Thanksgiving meal, I can actually read! There’s so many “best of 2012” book lists that are being published, that it’s hard to keep it. My reading list is still growing! Even though my reading has been lacking, I’ve still put a few books on hold. I don’t have high expectations but I would love to read at least one book.

2.  Cooking. With the lack of reading and abundance of tests, cooking is keeping my spirits up. Yesterday I made beef stew to go with this rainy weather we’re having. Today I’m making tortilla soup for dinner and trying out a new pumpkin muffin recipe.

What are you grateful for this weekend?

26 thoughts on “What I’m grateful for

  1. I’m sorry you have the flu! I’ve been sick myself this week and it’s just totally derailed any plans I had. I hope you are feeling well for your Thankfully reading weekend!

  2. So sorry you’ve been sick and having all of these tests!!! I really hope things calm down soon for you and you get your reading time in!

  3. I am grateful that I’m starting to feel like reviewing again. And I’m reading! Right now! A book, and not just the internet! *grin*

    I hope you feel better soon.

  4. I’m participating in Thankfully Reading weekend too! I’m looking forward to finding the time to read a bit more and this is a great excuse for it :) I love a good beef stew..sounds delicious especially with the colder weather. If I don’t talk to you before then I hope that you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

  5. Oh yuck, the flu :( I hope you’re feeling better soon! It’s the pits when you are sick and have things to do!

    I might join in on Jen’s event too. Any excuse to read :)

  6. I hope you feel better soon! Beef stew or any kind of soup at this time if year is nice comfort food. Happy reading, I think reading events like those can be great motivation :)

  7. I hope you’re feeling better soon! There’s nothing worse than having time off but not feeling up to reading. I always think I’ll be able to read if I’m sick in bed but that always seems to be the last thing that happens. Take care!

    And those pumpkin muffins sound delicious!! Happy Thanksgiving Natasha.

  8. The flu is only fun when it’s not-so-bad that you can’t use it as a reason to stay in bed and read. I hope you’re coming out of it nicely.

    On the weekend, I was grateful for good reading, and I still am, but right now I’m grateful for the most amazing (and vegan) chocolate cream-filled cupcakes ever.

  9. At first I thought you wrote you were thankful for the flu, and it reminded me of how my sister-in-law had knee surgery this week. I sent her a card opening with, “I wish I had surgery so I could stay home and read!” Of course, the flu is nasty and no fun, so I certainly don’t wish that on you. But, if you can all set aside for tea and books by all means, seize the opportunity!

  10. Urgh, flus are terrible, especially when you’re inundated with tests at the same time. :( I hope you recover quickly.

    Happy early Thanksgiving! Right now, I’m grateful for an opportunity I received last month, which I hope will come to something exciting. I’m also grateful for TV, which has given me my story fix this past week, and I join you in being grateful for cooking. I’ve had a wonderful time prepping dishes of late and have big plans for some bean and bacon soup tonight.

Comments are closed.