Sunday Salon

Morning! I’m starting to think that hell is Daylight Savings Time. It seems a bit unnatural to be up so early.

It’s day four of my NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) experiment. I’m starting to find it hard to come up with something to say. I have plenty of writing prompts in front of me but getting pen to paper or fingers on the keyboard is proving to be hard. I usually blog only when I have something to say.  For November, I have to find something to say every day.  I missed posting yesterday but I’m not letting that stop me from finishing the rest of the month.

Last week was a week of starts and stops. I kept picking up books, read a few pages, and putting them back down. Part of the problem has to do with the fact that I’m in the middle of three non-fiction reads: The Story of Stuff: How Our Obsession with Stuff is Trashing the Planet, Our Communities, and Our HealthAnd a Vision for Change by Annie Leonard, Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong, and The World’s Religions by Huston Smith (for school). I needed a light fictional read and couldn’t find the right one. I still haven’t found one but I do have a great list of books to choose from.

Yesterday, Publishers Weekly posted their list of the Best Books of 2012. My tbr list has expanded and I’ve started placing holds for many of the books listed. You can find my short thoughts on the list here. In my post, I’m asking for recommendations on some of the best books you’ve read this year.

I’m off to read. What are you reading today?

25 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Whenever those Best Books of the Year lists come out, I always feel overwhelmed because I’ve rarely read ANY of them. What do I read all year?! Clearly, not new books. This is how I felt when I went to vote in the GoodReads awards – is it fair or unfair to vote in a category in which you’ve only read ONE BOOK? I don’t know. I just decided not to vote. I like best of lists generally because they are interesting, but I guess when you don’t read only new books ever, it can make you feel a bit behind the curve.

    1. Aarti, I ended up with the same feeling for PW’s list and Goodreads. There were some categories that I’ve read a few books in but not many. I thought it was funny that I’ve read most of the children’s books that PW listed. You can feel behind the curve after reading the lists but I think they help to wade through the chatter of new books to find some really good reads.

    1. I’ve been up since 4 am! DST is hell! :-) Which Terry Pratchett book would you recommend? Should I start with his earlier work or read his latest, Dodger?

  2. I just finished Stonehenge: A Novel by Bernard Cornwell. I haven’t decided what’s next but I’m planning to move forward in English history and read something from Roman Britain — I just checked out a whole stack of novels from the library. There are way more novels set in Roman Britain than I imagined there would be.

    How is the Armstrong book? That sounds like something I would like.

  3. I can’t believe they’re posting their best of 2012 list already – I think it’s too early. I’m starting Sad Desk Salad by Jessica Grose and Man in the Blue Moon by Michael Morris today.

  4. I am still *wading* through The Woman in White, though I am determined to finish it tonight and review it tomorrow though – I feel like it’s happening in realtime it has taken me so long!

    I’m another Summer Time/Real Time hater though, I hate the loss of that hour of light in the afternoon.

  5. I like Daylight Savings Time when we gain an hour, but when we lose an hour in the Spring, it affects me for weeks!
    I can’t believe the Best Books of the Year lists are coming up already. I’m off to check that out.
    Enjoy your Sunday :)

  6. Argh, time change. I like it today for the extra hour of sleep, but I’m already dreading how it’s going to be pitch dark when I get out of work tomorrow. I hate that. =/

    I pretty much only blog when I’ve got something to say anymore, too. As it turns out, I don’t have all that much to say, or at least I can’t remember what I’d like to say when I have a chance to actually sit down and write. Good luck with your November posting!

  7. I had the good fortune of seeing Erin Morgenstern, of The Night Circus fame, speak at our local high school. She told us that the book was written six years ago, or so, during this NaNoWriMo. Now, of course that’s not the same thing as the NaNoBloMo, but you can do it, Vasilly! I’m on your side! Now I’m off to see what’s been listed as the best of 2012, and if there are any titles I agree with. ;)

  8. Oh! I love The Story of Stuff, but have never read the other one! I didn’t even know she had written other books. I’m going to read that one soon!

  9. I have the wandering interest thing with books too right now. I have a few that I am in the middle of, but they are not really capturing my attention. I know they should because they are great books, but somehow, I can’t enjoy any of them. It’s maddening!!

  10. I hate DST in the spring and love it in the fall — it’s perfect now especially because the subways are so insanely crowded after the hurricane, so I’ve just stayed on the old time for the rest of this week. I’m in to work at seven-thirty (pretending it’s eight-thirty) and I leave at four (pretending it’s five); I get plenty of sleep and miss all the worst of the traffic on the commute. Perfect!

  11. I didn’t even realize there was a NaBloPoMo! Is this the first year? That must be why some of my other favorite bloggers were talking about posting daily. So glad I didn’t hear about it before the month started and get tempted to try it! Good luck! Will try to keep up with reading them if you keep up with writing them!

Comments are closed.