Is it really that time of the year?

Late this morning, Publishers Weekly (PW) released their list of the Best Books of 2012. It came at a perfect time since I’ve been thinking about my own reading this year. I’ve read some good books but most aren’t ones that I want to put in the hands of everyone I meet. It would be great (if not perfect), if I were able to find some amazing reads to end 2012 with a bang. After reading PW’s list, my tbr pile is about to grow.

I was happy to see books like The Round House by Louise Erdrich, This is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz, and Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain on the list. These three books have been read and loved by some of my favorite book bloggers. Also, they’re finalists for the National Book Award in Fiction.

A few more blogger favorites that made the list include The Brides of Rollrock Island by Margo Lanagan, Cinder by Marissa Meyers, Wonder by R.J. Palacio, and Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo.

I was kind of disappointed to see that I’ve read just a handful of the books listed. I do agree with the editors that Brides of Rollrock, Chuck Close Face Book, and No Crystal Stair by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson deserve to be on the list.

For those of you who have read the list, what do you think? Are there any books on it that you’re adding to your tbr list? Do you think it’s too early to start coming out with a “best of 2012” list?

25 thoughts on “Is it really that time of the year?

  1. Ooh, I love when lists like this start coming out :) I’ve only read Bring up the Bodies from the top ten list. I’ve read a smattering of the books from the other lists..mostly the nonfiction. Now I have to really dig around and write down what I’d like to get to soon!

  2. I haven’t even heard of most of those!! Though I’m THRILLED to see that Brides of Rollrock Island made it on the blogger list….I don’t give too much attention to big lists like that..I pay more attention to my blogging friends’ top lists of the year :)

  3. Unbelievable, isn’t it? And unfortunately, my reading amount has taken a big hit this year with moving and all, so I haven’t read enough probably even to think of compiling a list! (And now there are the holidays to get ready for!!!)

  4. I thought it was a little early, and the cynic in me thought, well, this must be to drive sales for Christmas. But then I thought, what the heck? Get people to the books any way you can! (And I also added a few things to my wish list.)

  5. I only read Bring Up The Bodies from that list, and it’s one of my favorites. it’s going to be really tough to choose my favorite of the many books I read this year. even in historical fiction, I’m going to read Bernard Cromwell’s latest book next month, who knows it may be even better than all the HS I’ve read so far in 2012. by the way, here is my October recap, and my reading plans for the end of the year. In fact, if you have a mn, I need your help with some book recommendations: http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/11/02/october-2012-wrap-up/

  6. Wait a sec, where was Billy Lynn’s… listed? I don’t see it on the top 10! I was really sad about that because I think it may be my favorite novel of 2012.

  7. I haven’t read any “new”er books, but the Dave Eggers, Hilary Mantel, and Alice Munro are all on my wish lists. But gosh, thank you, this added so many titles to my nonfiction wish list. I don’t know why I read so little nonfiction when in fact they interest me so much more.

Leave a Reply

