Looking forward to November

There are some weeks where blogging seems to come naturally. Ideas flows and writing is easy. Then there are those other weeks. You know the ones where you can’t even find the time to leave a comment let alone write a review and post it! I seem to be having nothing but hard weeks right now.  It’s not bothering me too much but it is a little rough to trying to blog consistently once again.

October was an okay month reading wise. I read 22 books, most of which are children’s books. My favorite books from October are:

  • Sailor Twain or The Mermaid in the Hudson by Mark Siegel (graphic novel)
  • How Children Succeed by Paul Tough (nonfiction)
  • The Shark King by Kikuo R. Johnson (children’s graphic novel)
  • Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley (foodie memoir/graphic novel)
  • Chuck Close: Face Book by Chuck Close (children’s nonfiction)
  • A Day No Pigs Would Die by Robert Newton Peck (banned book/middle grade fiction)

I don’t think you could go wrong reading any of these.

November Goals

I didn’t do that great of a job reading my own books last month, but I’m not giving up just yet. If I read only five of my unread books in November, I’ll be happy. I’m not participating in NaNoWriMo but I am thinking about informally participating in this month’s NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month). I need something to jump start my blogging mojo.

November seems like it’s going to be a pretty a quiet month for me. What are your plans for this month? 

17 thoughts on “Looking forward to November

  1. Glad to hear you’re well even if life is hectic.

    I’m looking forward to your review of Sailor Twain and Relish when you get time, I read Twain as an ebook and have been hmmm’ing and ah’ing over buying a hard copy and Relish caught my eye when I was browsing an online store. :)

    1. I was doing the same thing about Sailor Twain. I think I will buy a hard copy of it. Is Relish out in the U.K.? I still have to wait until April of next year for its release here.

  2. Never you worry about blogging inconsistently. Sometimes we need to step back to be able to get back. :)

    The Sailor Twain graphic novel looks really good. I’ll ask my kids to look for it in the library. I kind of want to read the Lucy Knisley, too. Didn’t she have another graphic memoir prior to this, too?

    1. Yep, Claire! Knisley is also the author of a graphic novel called French Milk. I haven’t read it but I think it’s about her short time in France with her mother.

  3. I recall way back in the day of just starting to blog, I signed up to do a ‘blog-every-day’ challenge and was really upset that I got zero traffic from it! Ah, the days of crickets. Luckily, now-adays, I always have some awesome bloggers checking in even when I am slow to post… But I did have fun with it. Maybe I will attempt it, too = oh wait, I won’t have internet access for parts of this month. nevermind… Happy November!

  4. I’ve participated in NaBloPoMo before and it was a great way to keep myself on track (although some days I wanted to rip my hair out). I can’t even imagine trying to write a novel in a month.

  5. I looked at NaBloPoMo but didn’t want to write using prompts this month. I am thinking of trying to post every day, though.

    1. You don’t have to use prompts if you don’t want to. I haven’t used them yet but I know I’ll probably use one or two as the month progresses. I hope you join! :-)

  6. I’ve never heard of NaBloPoMo, thanks! I considered participating in NaNoWriMo but it was silly to even think about it, I’d never be able to manage that kind of time.

    I added several of your October books to my wishlist. The one about why children succeed sounds especially interesting!

Comments are closed.