Sunday Salon: Reader Survey, What’s on my Nightstand, and The Garden

Good morning! Fall is finally here! Well, not really. Here in Southern California, it seems like fall comes to visit us just for a few days every week. It’s supposed to be misting for the next two days so I’m not going to complain. Yesterday, it was actually cold enough for beef stew and I needed to wear a jacket. For all of you who are buried in snow every winter, I envy you.

A few weeks ago while Bloggiesta was going on, I posted a reader survey. I want to say thanks to everyone who took a few minutes of their time to fill it out. I wish that I could make a cute graph and share the results with you all, but alas, I’m not that talented.  I’m going through all of the responses and there will slowly be a few changes around 1330v but not anything too big.

I’ve spent this weekend hanging out with the kids and ignoring my homework. It was glorious. I also spent some time scanning my shelves for potential reads. I haven’t made as much progress when it comes to reading more off my shelves but I’m still trying. Here’s what on my nightstand from my tbr shelves right now:

The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney. I’m only a few pages in but I’m really like the main character, Mrs. Ross, an older woman who’s trying to solve the murder of her neighbor. It’s pretty different from what I’m used to reading.

The Lost City of Z: A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon by David Grann. This book has been sitting on my shelves for years. It’s gotten to the point that I’m tired of looking at it. I read a review by Aarti (BookLust) last week that put this on the top of my tbr pile.

The Voice of the River by Melanie Rae Thon. This turned up as a nice mail surprise a few months ago. I’ve been a huge fan of Thon’s writing for years. The book spans a day in the life of a missing boy and his dog and the search for the two.

The Distance Between Us: A Memoir by Reyna Grande. It’s the story of Grande’s childhood. Grande and her siblings had to live with various relatives in Mexico while her parents worked in the United States.

In case you didn’t know, Amy (My Friend Amy) and Carrie (Books and Movies) host a Film Club, discussing a new-to-them movie. This month’s pick is one I nominated: The Garden. It’s a documentary about a group of urban farmers who are having their small plot of land taken away from them by the city of Los Angeles to make way for. . . dirt. That’s right. A dirt field. I watched it with a friend and there was so much to discuss like city politics, urban renewal, race issues and more. There’s still time to join this discussion when it happens on October 30th on Carrie’s blog.

What are you reading this week?

25 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Reader Survey, What’s on my Nightstand, and The Garden

  1. It’s fall here and I’m one of the few people who don’t like it – I find it so hard to dress when the nights are cool and the days are warm. I’m reading A Casual Vacancy and Blackberry Winter.

  2. I am reading Kevin Baker’s novel Paradise Alley set in New York City during the Civil War draft riots. I’ve just started it, but I’m loving it so far.

  3. I’m loving fall weather right now but absolutely dreading winter, so, no, don’t envy us! All the things you have to worry about, like driving in the snow, etc. I know what you mean about having to look at books on the shelves that have been lying there for years and getting sick of seeing them there. Some days I feel like just giving them away if I think I wouldn’t ever be compelled to read them. Still, there they are, staring.

    Right now I’m reading Teach Us to Outgrow Our Madness by Kenzaburo Oe and Night Train to Lisbon by Pascal Mercier, both wonderful in different ways. Hope you have a great week, Vasilly!

  4. I don’t mind fall much but I dislike winter. I am reading Get Your Act Together as part of read your own books challenge.

  5. Sounds like you are having a nice weekend with the kiddies. Fall has arrived here, and the foliage is truly beautiful. Now we’re mostly having cold mornings, warmer days, and cold nights. I dread the winter freeze, I wish the Fall weather could stay longer.
    I’m reading Catching Fire at the moment. The Stef Penney book sounds good, happy reading.

  6. It totally made my day to know that my review made you want to read The Lost City of Z! :-D Even though I mentioned the MAGGOTS ;-)

  7. I’m so glad you said that about The Garden – I haven’t watched it yet! Things have been so crazy busy with the move, but I’ll find time for it before the discussion date. :)

    Also, Lost City of Z was excellent – I really enjoyed it.

  8. Thanks for the reminder about The Garden! I’ve forgotten about the last 2 movies. It’s hard to sit inside watching movies when it’s so nice out, and I want to take advantage of it before winter.

  9. I’ve been meaning to read Lost in the City of Z forever, too. I’m looking at it right now sitting on my bookshelf unread and unloved. Oh the list of books I have been meaning to read!

  10. Fall is my favorite season, even though we are heading into short days and long nights:) You’ve got a great selection of books there, I’ve read a couple of them and am adding the others to my TBR list.

  11. Weekends are meant for ignoring homework! :-D

    This weather is driving me crazy. Just when I think it’s cooling off, we have another heat wave! It’s supposed to rain today, but I’ll believe it when I see it.

    1. Alysia, this is such a great idea! I can’t meet up on Saturdays because that’s the one day that I don’t have daycare but I’ll be there in spirit!

  12. I forgot about that movie, but it sounded really good the first time you mentioned it and even better now. Glad you had such a fun weekend too! My reading this week? Hopefully finishing a bunch of books, because i’ve been really really good at starting a tonne of them lately…

  13. Aarti’s post about The Lost City of Z got me in the mood to read that one, too. It’s been a while since I’ve read any non-fic and I’m hoping my library has this one. I’m currently reading Affinity by Sarah Waters (will finish of RIP VII) and Aimee Bender’s weirdly wonderful collection of short stories, Willful Creatures.

  14. You find very interesting appealing books. I, too, have wanted to read the Lost City of Z (mostly because I have an alphabet obsession and letters attract my attention) Enjoy your Fall.

Comments are closed.