Graphic Novel Review: Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Saga:  Volume 1

Written by Brian K. Vaughan and illustrated by Fiona Staples

160 pages

Published in October 2012 by Image Comics

Source: Publisher

“This is how an idea becomes real. . . but ideas are fragile things.”

An intergalactic war has been going on for longer than anyone can remember between the people of Landfall and the inhabitants of Landfall’s moon, Wreath. The war between the two lands is no longer contained and has reached the rest of the galaxy. It doesn’t matter if a planet doesn’t want to be a part of the war; choose a side or it will be chosen for you.

Marko and Alana are soldiers on opposing sides who want nothing more to do with the war. Their story would probably end there if it wasn’t for the fact that they’re also lovers. Now the governments of both planets want them dead and their relationship to remain a secret. With their newborn daughter, the couple try to race to safety while encountering soldiers from both sides and freelance assassins.  Will their efforts be enough to keep their daughter safe?

What a ride! I didn’t know what to expect when I picked this up. Honestly, I decided to read Saga because of the beautiful cover. I’ve heard of the author, Brian K. Vaughan, before since I’ve read the first volume of his other series, Y: The Last Man, and it’s also a favorite among book bloggers I’ve talked to.

Marko and Alana are such a fun couple to read about. When readers meet them, Alana is giving birth to their daughter in the back of an auto body shop as Marko urges her on. Alana is really sarcastic and ready to shoot anyone who comes around while Marko tries his best to honor his promise to himself, never to lift his sword against another person. Throughout the book, readers learn how the couple met and a little bit about why they’ve decided not to fight in the war through the people who’ve been hired or commanded to hunt them down. We also see the dynamics of their relationship from their encounters with soldiers and ghosts.

Vaughan and Staples do an amazing job with the world-building. The inhabitants of Wreath all have horns of some type and magical abilities while the people of Landfall have wings. There are people who look like half-human and half-spiders, along with some who have televisions for heads. This galaxy is intertwined in this war and you see it. There’s something different and special about all the worlds that are come across in this first volume that makes readers want to know what happens next. The illustrations were gritty but nice to look at plus they help to keep the story moving along.

The one thing I didn’t like was that the story is too short! I wouldn’t have cared if the first volume of this new series was 300 pages long.

Overall, this new series is too good to miss. My rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

15 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Review: Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

  1. Wow, this is quite the rave! I have never heard of this, and I wasn’t able to get into Y: The Last Man despite raves by everyone, so maybe this can be my way to loving Brian Vaughn.

    1. I know what you mean, Jenny. I had a pretty sexist response to Y: The Last Man. While I read it, I kept saying “What?! Women would never act like that!” ;-)

  2. Hi! I’ve only been reading graphic novels for maybe two years now and all the ones I’ve read I’ve borrowed from the library. This one caught my eye a month or two ago and I’ve been waiting to see it pop up at one of my local libraries. I’m starting to think this might be my first GN purchase now..

Leave a Reply

