Sunday Salon: A Day of Reading

Good morning. The read-a-thon ended just a little over an hour ago. As usual, I feel asleep hours before it ended. I had been up for about twenty hours straight since I had insomnia the night before. My youngest, Avram, ended up with a fever during the event. It’s okay since the kids and I had a great time.

When the read-a-thon started at 5 a.m., my kids actually woke me up. They were so excited to start reading. Everyone had made their piles the night before. All that was needed was our warm bodies and we were off.

Event of the Event Meme

1. Which hour was the most daunting? It was probably hour 6 or so. All I wanted to do was sit down and read but iCarly was playing in the background and kicking were bickering and the dishes. . .

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Any book that’s fast-paced: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, Boneshaker by Cherie Priest, and pretty much any graphic novel like the Fables series by Bill Willingham.

3.  Do you have any suggestions on how to improve the read-a-thon next year? I wish there were more prizes aimed toward kids. I’ll probably volunteer for the prize committee of the spring read-a-thon. Or I might just have my own prizes for the kids. We’ll see.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s read-a-thon? I love how there were so many co-hosts this year.

5. How many books did you read? Altogether, the family read 34 books. Chuck Close Face book by Chuck Close was probably the one book read by all of us yesterday.

6. What were the names of the books you’ve read? Seriously? Okay. Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up by Mo Willems, The Lotus Seed by Sherry Garland, Flat Stanley and the Haunted House by Jeff Brown, Toy Story: Toy to Toy by Tennant Redbank, Johnny Appleseed by David L. Harrison, Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can you? by Dr. Seuss, Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed by Mo Willems, Where are you?by Francesca Simon, I Can Read with My Eyes Shut by Dr. Seuss, Spongebob: Halloween Scare by Steven Banks, Shadow by Suzy Lee, Chuck Close Face Book by Chuck Close, Lunch Lady and the Picture Day Peril by Jarrett J. Krosoczka, The Best Worst Halloween Ever by Barbara Robinson Arthur’s Halloween by Marc Brown, Spongebob: The Halloween Scare by Steven Banks,Bake Sale by Sara Varon, Scaredy-Cat, Splat! by Rob Scotton, Shark King by R. Kikuo Johnson, Bake and Make Amazing Cookies by Elizabeth Macleod, Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, Arthur’s Halloween by Marc Brown, It’s a Book by Lane Smith, Dinosaur vs. Bedtime by Bob Shea, Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown, Tomas and the Library Lady by Pat Mora, Let’s Do Nothing by Tony Facile, Dog Loves, Books by Louise Yates, Chuck Close Face book by Chuck Close, Only a Witch Can Fly by Alison McGhee, In the Haunted House by Eve Bunting, and How Children Succeed by Paul Tough.

7. Which book did you enjoy most? The Chuck Close Face Book

8. Which book did you enjoy the least? None

9. If you were a cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s cheerleaders? Nope.

10. How likely are you to participate in the read-a-thon again? What role would you likely be able to take next time? Of course, I’m in for next year! Depending on what day the read-a-thon is on, I’m hoping to do more than just read like being on a committee, cheerleading, and maybe even being a co-host.

I still have a few hours of homework ahead of me today. I also want to do a bit more reading! For now I’m going to lie down. I think I’m catching whatever it is that my son has.

Thank you Andi, Shesten, Heather, and all the co-hosts, cheerleaders, and fellow readers for making this another great event.

How was your read-a-thon experience? If you didn’t participate, how was your weekend? And of course, what are you reading today?

34 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: A Day of Reading

  1. That’s great that the whole family was involved and that you passed around the Chuck Close Face Book. I noticed more kids participating this year so kids’ prizes would be a terrific idea!

  2. I love that your family was involved! I tried to get my 2 youngest to participate with me, heck I even bought them new books! But you know when you are 12 and 14 it’s just not cool to read with your mom I guess? ;)

    This event was FAB, I can’t wait for the next one!

  3. The kid was excited about read-a-thon right until the last minute when he backed out on me. ;) Maybe if there were kid giveaways too, he would have been a bit more excited. Instead, tv and paper crafts won out. But I still had a lot of fun! I’m glad you did too and I hope you’re not really getting sick. :)

  4. I haven’t done a read a thon in such a long time! I too, like that you made it a family event. Bringing in more people sounds like such a good idea!

  5. I’m so glad the whole family got involved! It’s always fun to do something in groups, and as awesome as the cheerleaders are, sometimes it’s just more effective to have someone at home cheering you on and offering encouragements.

  6. OMG I love so much that the whole family participated and that y’all read so many books!!! That is so freaking awesome :D And I love your idea of having kid themed prizes. That really is a fantastic idea!

  7. Love the books you read! Would you say The Naked Mole Rat is better than the Pigeon books? Have you read any Elephant and Piggie books, also by Mo Willems? The kids love them.

    Love that your kids read along with you. That’s an idea for next year! :)

    I hope Avram is well now and that you don’t get sick yourself.

    1. Thanks, Claire! Unfortunately, I have a fever and Avram is still sick. :-( I thought the Naked Mole Rat book was cute but Elephant and Piggie is still our favorite over here. What do you think of the Knuffle Bunny books?

      1. Would you believe we haven’t read Knuffle Bunny? I know. Are they as good as Elephant and Piggie? E and P just really click with kids, eh? They never fail, even with my friends’ kids.

        I really hope you and Avram get well soon. Take care.

  8. Aww… I so wished I’d known the Read-a-thon was this weekend! I would’ve been so in (even though I don’t really keep my blog anymore). I’m putting the next one on my calendar as an absolute must. I’d create a new blog just do it. ;)

    – biblioaddict

  9. You guys did an excellent job! I only finished one book, and it was a fast read because life called, and ya know…I gotta answer. I am so proud of you guys for doing this with your whole family and for having so much fun! I agree next year, more kids prizes.

  10. 34 books with the entire family, that’s an amazing accomplishment! I love how your children wanted to be part of this, and make the fall readathon an even more enjoyable event :)
    Did you have a lot of books to return to the library, or did you read from your extensive bookshelves?

  11. While there are many parts of this post I love, including the plethora of titles you included (some favorites of mine in the children’s list) what I love most of all is that you and your kids read together. My son and I used to do that all the time, and if he was still fairly young I think we would. At 21 he has other things to do and other people to do them with, but I live vicariously through your eyes (and words).

  12. Sounds like so much fun. I was reminded of the Read-a-Thon at the last minute, but unfortunately I had a full day at work on Saturday, so it was a no-go. It would have been a great way to peek my head back into my blog. :(

    Glad to see all is well with you!
    ~Silsbee

Comments are closed.