Looking forward to. . . September

It’s a new month and there are new goals to work toward and new events to look forward to. I really enjoy writing these monthly posts but it’ll probably help if I go back during the month to see how close I am to what I hope to accomplish.

This month I read an all-time low of 13 books. My favorites were:

  • Drama by Raina Telgemeier
  • Not the Israel My Parents Promised Me by Harvey Pekar
  • Ichiro by Ryan Inzana
  • American Grown by Michelle Obama (review)
  • Lucretia and the Kroons by Victor LaValle

Instead of telling you what I hope to read, I’m going to take a page out of Andi’s book and just read whatever I feel like reading this month. I’m not going to worry about ARCs or library books.

Blogging

I’ve been slacking on blogging due to being in a slump and a modem that works only when it wants to. Now that that’s behind me, I can’t wait to get back. I’m hoping to blog as much as possible this month. A few things I’m looking forward to is. . .

The start of Carl’s R.I.P. VII challenge! This is my fifth time participating. Nothing says fall like this challenge. I’ve been counting down for the past few weeks for the start of R.I.P. and now it’s here.

The lovely Aarti (BookLust) is hosting a blog tour called A More Diverse Universe. She’s recruiting as many people (non-bloggers and bloggers alike) to read a fantasy or science fiction book during the week of September 23rd and blog about it somewhere online. Whatever you read has to be by an author of color. I’ve already signed up and started making a list. If you’re joining Carl’s challenge, why not join this blog tour also? I’m sure there’s going to be some great dialogue going on and wonderful books shared.

On the Home Front

September also brings the beginning of a new school year. The kids may not be excited but I am! Fingers crossed that the kids will end up liking their classes and their teachers.

The first week of the semester is finished and it was a success. My teachers are funny, engaging, and intelligent. In my Magic, Witchcraft, and Religion class, I wrote down several topics that came up in class including: Woody Allen’s version of prayer (get it yourself instead of asking for it), The Burning Years of the 12th and 13th centuries, male ob/gyns, and the Easter Bunny. Seriously.

Now I’m off to make my reading lists for the events I’ve mentioned earlier and do some homework. What are you looking forward to this month?

26 thoughts on “Looking forward to. . . September

  1. The timing couldn’t have been more perfect between A More Diverse Universe and R.I.P. I’m working on a list of possible books that combines both and should have it up by Tuesday. I can’t wait to hear more about your Magic, Witchcraft and Religion class! Have a wonderful week…

  2. I keep seeing the RIP challenges on other blogs lately but I don’t really understand what it’s about yet. Looks like I need to do more research on it. 13 books is an all-time low? Eek. Sounds like a pretty good book haul to me :)

    • Hey Erin! The R.I.P. Challenge is an annual challenge that started yesterday and ends on Halloween. Readers read horror, fantasy, mystery, and/or several genres. You can also watch movies or anything that goes with the theme. Carl has the info on his blog. I hope it’s something you’ll sign up for. ;-)

  3. Oooo… I have Octavia Butler’s Kindred waiting patiently on my TBR pile–I think I’ll join you for that challenge on the 23rd. I’m glad you blogged about it!

  4. I’m curious to hear what books are on your list for the Diverse Universe challenge. Fantasy/sci-fi aren’t really my genres, and I already read (and loved) Kindred, but beyond that I have no books I’m interested in checking out.

    • Hey Akilah! A few of the books on my list are Half-World by Hiromi Goto, The House of Dies Drear by Virgina Hamilton (middle grade), The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi, The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, and The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. There’s also Blindness by Jose Saramago which is really good.

  5. 13 books is a lot. I’m not sure I read that much. Your magic, witchcraft, and religion class sounds so cool! There you go, making me wish I was in school again. ;)

  6. I love reading Sunday Salon posts. One of these days, I’m going to jump into doing them, too, but for now, reading them is as much as I can do. I understand about a slump, I’m trying to not get overwhelmed, but all the fall events in the blogworld are so appealing!

  7. I hope your kids like their classes and teachers, too! It makes all the difference in the year, and one’s attitude toward school in the future, when things go right in the foundation of education. I love “taking a page out of Andi’s book” and reading what you want; that is exactly what I am doing too. We don’t have time for anything less! Finally, I’m looking forward to the Diverse Universe challenge with you. I really want to expand my awareness of authors from other cultures (besides Asia!).

  8. I love the More Diverse Universe challenge and I have at least 2 qualifying books but I my eyes are bigger than my stomach when it comes to challenges! I just can’t commit these days. Anyway I’ll be reading all your posts with interest. I hope things go well with the kiddies and school! :-)

  9. Happy September! I’ve been so eager for fall to arrive so I can get cozy with my books. I fell off blogging a bit during the summer as well, but I think a lot of people did. I hope you get to read some books you want to read, rather than books you have to read.

  10. That sounds like such an interesting class! I have to admit, I’m jealous you’re still in school. I’ve been thinking about going back… but I don’t know what I want to do yet.

    I’m so excited for RIP and Aarti’s challenge. Happy September!

  11. I’m excited to see what everyone will be reading for A More Diverse Universe! Almost completely by coincidence I’ve ended up with a bunch of fantasy books by POC authors on my Nook right now, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to review more than one for this. Yay!

  12. Your goal for September is the opposite of mine, perhaps taking a more relaxed approach will make for more enjoyable reading? I’ll have to try and refrain from over-committing sometime ;)

    What are you reading for Aarti’s Diverse Universe event? As for R.I.P. VII, I couldn’t resist any longer… it seems like almost every blog I come across is gushing about it. But I’ll probably read just one or two books in total. No more over-committing!

    I seriously envy you for taking that Magic, Witchcraft, and Religion class, it sounds like great fun!

  13. Seriously bummed that none of my college classes ever talked about the Easter Bunny. I hope you keep sharing stories from that class…it sounds amazing.

  14. Glad to hear your September started will with the kids going back to school and your classes beginning. As nice as summer is I am always glad when my son goes back to school and we get into our routines again.

Comments are closed.