Looking forward to August

Every month I write about how I can’t believe it’s the start of a new month, and it’s no different for August. I don’t think I’m ever going to get over how fast the past two years have gone by. It seems like if you just sneeze, September will be here.

July was a month that started out pretty good with me quitting my summer math class. My reading took off with a bang since I had so much free time. I joined the High Summer Read-a-thon but failed miserably and spent the past week and a half plagued by migraines. I’m still not migraine-free so my reading will probably slow down a lot this month.

In July, I read a total of 28 books. My favorites (and 5/5 reads) ended up being:

  • Every Day by David Levithan
  •  Nox by Anne Carson
  • No Crystal Stairby Vaunda Micheaux Nelson
  • The Pink Hotel by Anna Stothard
  • Bad Island by Dough TenNapel
  • The Brides of Rollrock Island  by Margo Lanagan
  • Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Every Day and The Brides of Rollrock Island won’t be out for a few more months but I really recommend you putting them on your tbr lists now.

Lately, I’ve been in a mood to read non-fiction so I ignored my library ban to check out a few books including:

  • Food and the City: Urban Agriculture and the New Food Revolution by Jennifer Cockrall-King
  • The Wisdom of the Radish: and Other Lessons Learned on a Small Farm by Lynda Hopkins
  • Cognitive Surplus: Creativity and Generosity in a Connected Age by Clay Shirky. I plan on reading it with Jane McGonigal’s Reality is Broken.
  • The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child, Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures by Anne Fadiman. It’s one of Kim’s (Sophisticated Dorkiness) favorite books and I never hesitate to put books she recommend on my tbr list.
  • Multiplication is for White People: Raising Expectations for Other People’s Children by Lisa Delpit. I saw Frances (Nonsuch Book) put it on her tbr list.

I also joined Photo-a-Day July which was hosted by Chantelle (Fat Mum Slim). That was another project I failed at but will try again with Photo-a-Day August.

That’s my reading plan for August. What books are you hoping to read in August? 

24 thoughts on “Looking forward to August

  1. I feel the same way at the end of every month. Surely it can’t be August yet!

    I have so many things to say about your nonfiction list! I’m also reading a book about urban agriculture (Eat the City). I love Clay Shirkey, but haven’t read that one yet. I also want to read the Jane McGonigal book. I hope you love The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down. I feel like I need to reread it sometime soon, since I talk it up to everyone I can :)

    1. I had to look up Eat the City, Kim. It sounded familiar. Now I want to read it! I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it. I love how publishers are more willing to publish these kinds of books.

  2. Sorry to hear you are suffering with migraines but happy to hear you have dropped a course and have more time for reading! I can’t believe the summer is more than half over already. I don’t know where the time has gone.

  3. The idea that it’s August is freaking me out. I’ve spent the morning ordering textbooks. Ugh! I have a little over a week before I go back to school for my on-campus job training even though we don’t start classes until the 27th.

    You’re urban agriculture book looks interesting. I picked up a whole slew of books on agriculture at the library yesterday that I’m looking forward to digging into. Not sure how many I’ll read in the next 11 days but it’s worth a shot.

    1. Christina, I know what you mean! I have two textbooks so far and one more to get. We start school on the same day. I’m trying to read as much as possible before the first day of the semester too. I hope we’re able to get it all read in time! :-D

  4. I’m glad your migraines are letting up. You do really well reading even while fighting migraines. I’m in awe! really.

    I had a couple last month and my daughter showed up at the door with a “feverfew” plant for my herb garden. The plant lady at the farmer’s market said to make tea or chew a leaf for relief of migraines. I’ll have to check with my doctor about drug interactions and such before I try it.

    1. I’ve never heard of feverfew! I’m going to look it up too. My farmer’s market goes on today so I think I’ll go and see if they have any. Thanks for letting me know about it. :-)

  5. Oh, Vasilly, migraines are so awful–I’m sorry you’re going through that.

    Holy cow at the amount of reading you did, though! 28!!! Good job!

  6. So sorry to hear about the migraines :( Hope they leave you alone very soon!! I’ve preordered Every Day and I’m SO excited about that one!! I’m super looking forward to the new Lanagan too!!!

  7. August is going to be all about borrowing Booker longlist books from the library while frantically trying to read enough of the other books I already have so I can return them and be allowed to check tthe Booker titles out. 20 books is a generous limit but I shall be juggling. :)

  8. Your reading pace astonishes me! I’m looking forward to the Booker longlist in August, as well as a slew of fall new releases I’m excited for. I think the rest of 2012 will be a wonderful reading year.

  9. Congratulations on a great July. It was a total bust for me, lol. Hope you get a chance to read The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down. It is an amazing book!

  10. Fantastic July (except for the headaches). Love those food books you got from the library … I haven’t read them.

  11. I’m glad you had such an awesome July! I actually plan on reading Every Day this August. Happy August, Natasha! <3

  12. I agree that this year has moved exceptionally fast, and I can’t believe that it’s almost September. I love the fall, and I have been waiting for it to arrive! Lots of great books read this month over here. I have a few plans of my own on things I want to read for the next few months. Have a Happy August!

  13. My goodness you’ve accomplished a lot!! I’m so impressed with not only how many books you’ve read in July, but how you’ve grabbed the nonfiction ones as well. Not my favorite genre…as for me, I’m reading A Prayer for Owen Meany, finally, and loving it so much. I see what all the fuss is about; usually the praise is warranted when I hear it from fellow book bloggers! Happy August, Vasilly!

  14. tsk, tsk, quitting math class. LOL. I totally would quit math class in summer too. Hate math classes. Congratulations on reading so many books in July. I’m in the mood to read non-fiction too; however ever time I pick one up I can only get a few pages in before putting down again.

Comments are closed.