High Summer Read-a-thon Wrap-Up and the rest of the week

The High Summer Read-a-thon hosted by Michelle’s (The True Book Addict) came to an end last night around midnight. The event lasted six days but I think I only read for three thanks to kids and video games distractions. I didn’t finish as much as I wanted to but I finished three books: Nox by Anne Carson, Hereville: How Mirka Met a Meterorite by Barry Deutsch, and The Brides of Rollrock Island by Margo Lanagan. All three books received a 5-star rating. I’ve also read 100 pages of The Iliad, and DNF (did not finish) Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall. Plus, I’m in the middle of four books: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake (audio), Girls in the Grass by Melanie Rae Thon, Reality is Broken by Jane McGonigal, and Louise Erdrich’s Love Medicine. Total page count: 1,040 pages. Not bad. Next time I’m going to stick to one book at a time.

I had a great time during the read-a-thon especially with the twitter chats and 30-minute reading sprints, where participants read as much as they can.  Thanks to Michelle for hosting this great event.

Now I’m spending the rest of the week finishing my reads and writing reviews.

If you participated in the read-a-thon, how did you do? For everyone else, what are you reading this week?

20 thoughts on “High Summer Read-a-thon Wrap-Up and the rest of the week

  1. Man, that was a really huge accomplishment, and makes me wish that I had taken the time to enter this event as well! I probably wouldn’t have been able to block six days of time off from the real world though. I really admire how many pages you turned, and how many books you finished! Great job!

    1. You should join in next time! Most people were working etc as usual but just squeezing in as much reading as they could each day. I was either at work or out for the day on every single day this time, but I still had fun blogging and Tweeting and stalking other people’s reading lists… ;)

  2. Wow, you read loads! I had a fairly crazy week but I managed to squeeze in a few hundred pages which made my total lack of goal-meeting a tad less embarrassing. I finished FEAR AND LOATHING IN LAS VEGAS which was… mad… read from two other books, and started THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER which so far is completely living up to the hype. As soon as I mentioned it I got loads of comments on the blog telling me I needed to read it IMMEDIATELY – now I know why! Congrats anyway – I think I’m becoming a read-a-thon addict! :)

    Ellie @ Musings of a Bookshop Girl

  3. One book at a time? Pfft. Over-rated. (Or, at least, I tell myself that’s true.) I want to read all the books that you read, especially since you’re giving them all great ratings! Thanks for letting me know about this event: I’m sure that I read more last week than I would have otherwise. (Even though I thought that, with it lasting a week, that I’d’ve read more, but, as you say, so many lovely distractions, even from the most lovely of them all.) I cleared 9 books off my library stack (one was a DNF for me, too) and then went in today to pick up the next section of holds. Heheh. (I’ve got to spend some time on Twitter for the next one — I keep forgetting about that, and it sounds like such fun!)

  4. Wow, that’s what we call multitasking! Or is it multireading? Anyway, great job! And three 5stars read, you must have had an awesome time!
    By the way, thanks for reminding me to put up my end of the line post, I had completely forgotten about it! Oops!

  5. A thousand pages is nothing to sniff at! Good work! I got lucky because Eric was on vacation and could keep the kids occupied.

  6. You did a wonderful job! So glad you enjoyed it. Yes, the reading sprints are fun. I think I’m going to have scheduled time blocks for them next time. They seem popular. I have to say, The Brides of Rollrock Island looks like it would be good. Wishlist add!

    Thank you for joining me and I hope you will be with us again for FrightFall in October.

  7. Isn’t it amazing how one seems to have less time in the summer than during the school year? I’m not quite sure how that happens! I love read-a-thons, though, as somehow they give me permission to do what I love!

    Always amazed how you find time to Twitter, and leave me the sweet comments that you do, along with your mothering and blogging. xoxo

    Didn’t Lanagan write that bizarre story about the bears? Off to look that up…

  8. What a great job you did for the readathon! I’ve only ever participated in one as a reader – it just burnt me out too much to read for a solid 24 hours (in reality about 18 before I fell asleep). Now I prefer to participate in the Dewey readathons as a cheerleader or mini challenge host.

Comments are closed.