The Poetry Project

Lu (Regular Rumination) and Kelly (The Written Word) have decided to revamp their Read More/Blog More Poetry event. The event is now a year-long project. Instead of posting a poetry-related post at the end of the month, participants can now post whenever they want and as many times as they want. There will also be a monthly prompt that you can take part in. To kick this project off, Lu and Kelly are asking participants to answer a few questions.

Why do you want to join for the Poetry Project? I love poetry!

Do you have a favorite poet? I have a lot of favorite poets like Pablo Neruda, Audre Lorde, Alice Walker, Emily Dickinson, and Raymond Carver.

Hopefully this will go longer than a year. Do you have any suggestions for themes? Poetry from the Harlem Renaissance, books in verse, biographies about poets, and focus on poets of various nationalities and races.

What are your experiences with poetry in the past? Have they been positive or negative? My experiences with poetry have usually been pretty positive.

Tell us about a poem or poet that has had a profound effect on you. If you can’t think of a poem, how about a song? Or a line from a story? What a great question! This could be a prompt. There are a lot of poets that I’ve discovered at the perfect time in my life: Emily Dickinson, Pablo Neruda’s Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair as a teenager; Audre Lorde’s Collected Poems as a young adult, and Raymond Carver’s All of Us as a new mom.

What frustrates you about poetry or the way we talk about poetry? What frustrates me is that some poetry can be really hard to understand. It’s as though certain poets want their work to be as difficult as possible so only a selected few will ever love and know it. I can think of a few poets whose work I avoid at all times.

Tell us something about yourself that has nothing to do with poetry! Hmmm. . .

21 thoughts on “The Poetry Project

  1. I am going to take this as a personal sign that I need to read more poetry, and try to dig up some of the poems that have been mentioned on your site. Great idea that you guys have! I must find some way to get involved.

  2. I’m excited to read more about this. I love Neruda’s love poetry and look forward to learning more about the poetry and poets you are reading!

  3. I am excited about the revamped poetry project! I have slacked off the last couple of months but will head over to Lu’s and check it out.

  4. I’m so glad to see enthusiasm for poetry! I’ve never read any of Raymond Carver’s poetry – didn’t know he wrote poetry! So thanks for informing me :) I will look some up.

  5. I have also just joined up for this project am really looking forward to getting lots of inspiration of what poets to try next. I recently finished reading a collection of Emily Dickinson’s work and really enjoyed it.

  6. I just joined the poetry project and am very excited. I try to read poetry regularly, but for some reason always let it slip by. I’ve never read Raymond Carver, so I will have to check him out.

  7. I think you and I might need to have more discussion about what frustrates us after we’ve participated in more of the poetry discussion…

Leave a Reply

