Sunday Salon: July reading plans

Morning! It’s about 9 a.m. here and already it’s warm. Why?! The weather is crazy all over the United States right now so if you’re on the East Coast, I hope you’re keeping cool. If you’re anywhere that’s flooding, I hope you’re safe and dry.

June was one of those rare reading months where the quality was WAY better than the quantity. I read fourteen books, mostly children’s books with the kids. Every adult book that I read last month was fantastic. I read:

  • The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna Rating: 5/5
  • Fables Vol. 16: Super Team by Bill Willingham Rating: 5/5
  • Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin Rating: 5/5
  • The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter Rating: 5/5

The kids and I also read some amazing children’s books like:

  • Boy + Bot  by Amy Dyckman and Dan Yaccarino Rating:  5/5
  • How to Babysit a Grandpa by Jean Reagan Rating:  5/5
  • Extra Yarn by Marc Barnett Rating:  5/5
  • And Then it’s Spring by Julie Fogliano Rating:  5/5

Now that July is here, I’m hoping to have another great reading month. Jill (The Magic Lasso) is bringing back Orange July: a month-long celebration where participants read at least one Orange Prize nominee or winner in July. I’m signed up and there are so many great-looking books that I want to read like The Pink Hotel by Anna Stothard and Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan to Kathleen Winter’s Annabel and A Mercy by Toni Morrison.

I also put myself on a summer-long new book ban. My bookcases are filled with unread books so for the rest of the summer, I won’t buy or check out any books for myself. I can read the library books that I have checked out but I’m not renewing them. Think of it as my summer version of C.B.’s TBR Double Dare. I did have a small buying binge yesterday but it was mostly short stories from Tor.com.

So those are my plans for July. What are your plans for the month?

37 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: July reading plans

  1. Oh mercy, I haven’t even thought about plans. I don’t think I have any plans. I’m abandoning all plans. OH, except I have a copy of Shadow of Night on my Nook that will need immediate attention because I CANNOT WAIT.

    And I just signed up for Orange July. Will attempt it. I’m seriously tempted to download The Song of Achilles.

    Glad you had such a wonderful June, and I’m thrilled to see A Game of Thrones was a winner. I’ve had it on my stacks forever.

    • I have a copy of Shadow of Night too. Unfortunately, I’ve heard some not-so-positive things about the relationship between the main characters. *sigh* I’m not as enthusiastic about reading it but I will this month. Song of Achilles is a book that I’ll probably read this month too. Whenever you’re in the mood for another great chunkster, I suggest Game of Thrones. It’s amazing.

    • Let me try this again…

      ANNABEL has been on my TBR shelves for almost two years now–I don’t know why I haven’t gotten to it, yet. It sounds so good.

      • I know what you mean, Heather! It’s been on my tbr shelves for probably the same amount of time. I can’t wait to dig in. I hope July is off to a great start for you!

  2. All 5 star reads in a month? That’s awesome! My goal is also to read only what I have here and I’m trying to have the kid stick to the same. We’ve been stocking up on chapter books over the past year or so and he hasn’t cracked many of them open yet. He has so many adventures ahead!

  3. I love the cover of The Memory of Love! It looks like you had a great reading month, let’s hope July brings even more. Somehow my summer reading feels really slow this year

  4. I’m still ploughing through 11/22/63 – that monster is huge! But very good – hard to put down. I’m also having a hard time putting down Gone Girl. Then two review books – Passing Love by Jacqueline Luckett and When Captain Flint Was Still a Good Man by Nick Dybek. Those are my first choices for July, anyway. :)

  5. My plans for July are to pet-sit and work on my writing, and hopefully find another job. As for my reading this month… STILL slogging through Ivanhoe, uhg.

  6. Despite my protests of reading what I like in July, I will be joining Orange July. Or at least I hope to do so. You have some fantastic selections. I’m curious to hear what you think of The Pink Hotel, if you read it, because I had mixed feelings about it. I think you may have reminded me of how much I want to read Annabel. Perhaps that will finally happen this July?

    And I’m so happy to see you loved The Memory of Love so much. I have it on my shelves and plan to read it for both the African Lit Challenge and the Chunkster Challenge. I’m sorry I missed out on the read along in June.

  7. I bought The Pink Hotel when it came out, and have been really eager to read it, because I have heard that it’s a pretty incredible book. I really hope that you enjoy, and look forward to reading your review on it. I am planning to get back into the swing of things and am looking forward to checking out a few new releases that I have been waiting for for some time now. I want to read The Reckoning and also the new book in The Discovery of Witches trilogy. I hope you have a wonderful July!

  8. Good luck with your buying ban! I was really good this year until April. Then all bets were off. I have been trying to get through some old review copies. It’s a slog, but it’s a good slog. I hope your fantastic reading streak continues!

  9. So many five star reads! Wow! I hope I can capture some of your reading magic and discover some wonderful books this month. Enjoy your Orange July :-)

  10. Annabel would be a great choice in terms of its setting; the snowy scenes might help you keep cool. It’s also beautifully written and might add to your streak of 5-star reads. Good luck with your bans: summer booksales are better than autumn booksales. Heheh.

    My plan for July is to, first, finish the three malingerers on my stack; I just finished GoT today (fantastic), and I’m going to finish Kristin Lavransdatter and Redwall and then move onto fresh reads later this month.

    • You finished GoT?! What did you think of the ending? Glad to hear that you enjoyed Annabel. I can’t wait to read it though it’ll probably be later on this month.

  11. A book ban sounds like such a great idea. July will be a slow month for me too, as my finances are a tad limited and new releases not as exciting anyways. I’m so glad to read you loved GoT though; I’ve only watched the series and have been more hesitant on trying the books.

  12. I should definitely be implementing a book buying ban too! I’ve been checking more books out from the library but still buying them too. I look forward to hearing more about what you read in July!

  13. I totally forgot about the Orange July! I need to see if I can knock at least one Orange book from my shelf! I hope you have a wonderful July.

  14. I forgot all about Orange July! I’m going to have to go check out the lists and put some on hold. Thanks for reminding me about it and good luck with all of these!

Comments are closed.