Sunday Salon: Re-re-readathon!

Good morning! It’s cold and cloudy here in SoCal, perfect weather for curling up with a book (or several in my case). Hopefully the weather changes for the better for everyone who’s planning on barbecuing this Memorial Day weekend.

Today is also my read-a-thon with Christina (Ardent Reader). It’s pretty informal so we start and finish whenever we want. It’s just our way of celebrating the end of the semester. I’m starting right after I finish writing this post. If you’re planning on reading this weekend, why not join us?

Last week I had a great reading week. I read 11 books! I’m pretty sure that I didn’t break any records but it felt good to do so much reading. My favorite books from last week are The Professor and the Housekeeper by Yoko Ogawa, The Hottest Dishes of the Tartar Cuisine by Alina Bronsky, and The Lonely Book by Kate Bernheimer. You can expect reviews for all three books in the near future.

Here’s my reading stack for today and the rest of the week:

  • Under the Green Hill by Laura L. Sullivan
  • Me and You by Niccolό Ammaniti, translated from Italian by Kylee Doust
  • Home by Toni Morrison.
  • Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman
  • Are You My Mother? by Alison Bechdel
  • Not pictured: Zahra’s Paradise by Amir & Khalil

I’m already deep into Under the Green Hill. It’s a fantasy middle grade filled with fairies and old magic. I’m really enjoying it.

Now I’m off to read (and eat pancakes). What are you doing this weekend?

*Photo courtesy of Evil Erin Flickr/Creative Commons

 

1st Update:

Finished Sullivan’s Under the Green Hill. What a fantastic read. The short: 5 out of 5 stars. Now I’m trying to figure out what else to read. I decided to just return Are You My Mother?  and Me and You unread to the library since they’re due back in a few days. I’m also eager to read a few books from my own shelves. Hmmm. . .

16 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Re-re-readathon!

  1. Isn’t The Hottest Dishes of the Tartar Cuisine a trip? What a main character!

    Glad to hear you had a great reading week, and hope you enjoy your reading today. As for me this weekend, I’m reading but also watching too much TV, trying to get a handle on my household clutter, and catching up on sleep. Long weekends are the best!

  2. I had pancakes this morning too. What a coinky dink! ;)

    I’d join you today, but I’m spending time with my dad (or will be when he gets done mowing the lawn) as we will be watching the Coca-Cola 600.

  3. Fairies and old world magic? Sounds perfect! I hope you got all the reading done today that you were hoping for…or maybe you still have a few hours of it ahead of you yet. Enjoy!

  4. I hope you had a great readathon! I want to do one sometime – it’s long overdue.

    How did you find Zahra’s Paradise? I used to follow the webcomic for a while, until I ended up missing a lot when I wasn’t online much.

  5. The titles of the books you read last week are quite interesting. I look forward to reading what the books are about.

  6. I just finished Home by Toni Morrison. It is a quick read, well worth the time, although it is not her best work. I hope you enjoy it. I am looking forward to seeing what you think of it,

  7. Sounds like perfect plans for the Memorial Day weekend. it’s been a few weeks ago now but I think we had cloudy weather up her in SF Bay Area too.

Comments are closed.