Chunkster Challenge, Summer Read-along, summer reading, summer reading challenge, Sunday Salon

Sunday Salon: Summer Reading, Read-a-thons, and Read-alongs

Technically, summer doesn’t start until June 16th here but when you’re a student, it starts the very second you’ve finished with your last final. Since my last final is over tomorrow afternoon, I’ve started picking out potential reads for my short, (less than a month long), summer. To say I’m excited is an understatement. I’ve been waiting for this day probably since Easter vacation. The chance to read as much as I want without worrying about grades or homework is my idea of heaven.

Here’s a few things that I’m looking forward to this summer:

Photo by EvilErin Flickr Creative Commons

Christina over at The Ardent Reader is another blogger/college student who’s celebrating the beginning of summer, so we’re decided to host a small informal read-athon exactly a week from today. It’s called the School’s Out! Summer Read-a-thon. Feel free to join us. You can read as little or as much as you want.

In case you didn’t know, Sheila over at Book Journey is hosting a read-along of Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden throughout the month of May. On the 31st, she’s hosting a virtual garden party with discussions on the book and giveaways.  The Secret Garden is one of my annual spring reads but I wasn’t able to get to it this year. I plan on re-reading the book, watching the movie version, and re-reading Ellen Potter’s The Humming Room which was inspired by The Secret Garden.

The Chunky Book Club is hosting its next book club discussion starting June 7th for The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna. I can’t wait to read this. The book was a finalist for the Orange Prize, won the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize for Best Book, and is an Essence Magazine Book Club pick. You don’t have to be a participant of the Chunkster Reading Challenge and you can read this in any format.

Now I’m off to cram study. What are you reading today?

33 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Summer Reading, Read-a-thons, and Read-alongs”

  1. Well, first up, I’m reading Sunday Salon posts…and then mowing the lawn. After that, I hope to get back to reading The Long Goodbye by Raymond Chandler and later today Six Bad Things by Charlie Huston. Um, I don’t think the first day of summer is June 16. I think it’s June 20. 😉

  2. Glad to hear that you are about to enjoy a much-deserved break from your studies. It is wonderful to have free time and to feel like you can finally read whatever you like.

  3. I can feel you exuberance from over here, Vasilly! As a teacher, I feel much the same only this year it’s hard to let my class go. I’ve grown particularly attached to this bunch. Also, I’d live to feel the freedom to read which you expressed, but I got quite overcommitted in my promised reviews. (Must stop that!) However, I’ll be reading The Secret Garden with you and the others and I gather we’ll be picking up some Irving together. I’ll let you know when I start A Prayer for Owen Meany. xo

    1. Ha ha ha! Too bad you can’t get the same class next year. I know what you mean about being overcommitted when it comes to ARCs. I have a ton that I need to get to this summer. I’m so glad there’s a few books that we’re reading together.

  4. Thanks for the reminder of the Chunky Book Club! I didn’t know the next book was coming up so soon!!! I’ll definitely try to join in again if I can!

  5. I’m glad to hear your finals are almost over and that you get a break! I have The Memory of Love on my TBR list, maybe I’ll get to it over the summer…

  6. Times like these, I wish I was back at school. LOL! Enjoy the readathon! I hope you get most of that stack cleared!

  7. I am also anticipating the summer months! My summer begins June 12th and I cannot wait to lounge around a read, read, read. 😉 Plus, I’m dying to do some readalongs. I’ll have to look out for them for sure!

  8. Three cheers for school being almost over!

    I’m glad you reminded me about the Chunky Book Club–I want to read that one, too (and actually participate in the discussion this time).

    1. I know what you mean! I hope you get caught up on your reading. Being behind can be stressful. 🙂

      ________________________________

  9. I can only imagine how massive your stack for Saturday must be. Er, stacks?

    That’s a pretty edition of The Secret Garden that you’ve chosen. I’d re-read it, too, if mine was that pretty.

    1. I have many stacks! At the rate that I’m reading right now, I probably won’t have much of a stack by this weekend.

      Isn’t that a great cover?! It was an impulse buy awhile back from Target. Is there a Target store near you? It’s illustrated by Jillian Tamaki who’s an excellent artist.

Comments are closed.