It’s May already?

What is up with 2012? I usually don’t feel like time is starting to fly by until April when summer is just around the corner. Instead, time has been slipping away since January.

In April, I read 17 books including:

  • Hades by George O’Connor
  • The Humming Room by Ellen Potter
  • The Behavior Gap by Carl Richards
  • Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey
  • Alcestis by Katharine Beutner
  • Bake Sale by Sara Varon

They were all good reads but with the exception of Hades, they weren’t great. Reviews are coming soon for all of them.

The next three weeks promise to be chaotic as the semester comes to an end. My reading stack for May is going to be small at best. Since April was such a mediocre month for reading, I’m checking my shelves for books that are beautiful yet devastating. I want to read something that rips my heart out. Here’s what I’m hoping to read this month:

  • Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman
  • Continue reading Game of Thrones with M
  • Land to Light On: Poems by Dionne Brand
  • The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
  • Beloved by Toni Morrison (re-read)
  • Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson
  • What Looks like Crazy on an Ordinary Day by Pearl Cleage (re-read)

I’m also participating in Joy’s Reader Workouts, a weekly event hosted by Joy at Joy’s Book Blog. Bloggers share their exercise goals and cheer each other.

My monthly exercise goal for May is to ride by bike every other day for at least two miles. Two miles isn’t a lot but I’m trying to make riding my bike a habit again. I hate getting on my bike after being off of it for weeks and feeling so tired so fast.

Those are my goals for May. What are you looking forward to this month?

21 thoughts on “It’s May already?

  1. I know! It kills me that it is May already! I feel panicky, like I should be Christmas shopping or something! LOL

    I have four books waiting for me at the library – very exciting, including Looking for Alibrandi by Marchetta (author of Jellicoe Road) and I am especially excited about that one!

  2. I also can’t believe that it is already May! It seems like the year has just gone by so fast! I never remember things going as quickly when I was younger, so that’s another weird thing. It looks like you have some great reads ahead of you for the upcoming month, and I can’t wait to hear what you think of The Language of Flowers. It’s an excellent read. Happy May to you!

  3. I’ve yet to read a novel of Pearl Cleage’s, but I like the fact that she seems to write about the same group of characters in multiple books (though WLLCoaOD doesn’t seem to be part of one of those cycles); maybe I should start with that one?

    In May, I’m looking forward to getting my current stack of reading into a more manageable state. You know those reading moods where EVERYthing looks good, so you start into a whole bunch of things, and they ARE all good, so you just keep starting things, and reading them all in little bits, and then the current stack blooms from 8 to 18 and, yes, even I have to admit that’s a little unrealistic. But they’re all sooooo good!

  4. I can’t figure out either where all the time this year got spent! I haven’t had a good reading year thus far and it’s annoying me!

  5. What am I looking forward to in May? Figuring out audio books to read when I mow the lawn? Cleaning my house and surviving my bro-in-law’s visit over Memorial Day… maybe trying to figure out some more inspirational goals.

  6. They year is flying by way too fast! May is crazy for me.. bike rides almost every weekend, a weekend with my son at the cabin and then BEA will be here… and June will fly as well. Hang in there ;)

  7. I agree, 2012 is going by way too fast! I can’t believe it’s almost summer.
    I wish you a great month of May! Biking sounds like a good plan. I want to buy a new bike for this summer, too.

  8. I hate when I have just a so so month of reading. I hope that the books you have picked out lead to an amazing month of reading in April! I’m hoping to run three times a week the entire month of May (starting now). LOL! It may happen but who knows :) I hope that May is a great month for you Vasilly!

  9. I’ve read some great older titles, but nothing new and great. Let me know if you run across something new and great….I’m counting on you.

  10. I’m so far behind with my Google Reader that it is almost June already and your entry is talking about it being May already. I hope you found just the right book to rip your heart out. I love that line! I look forward to catching up with your May posts as I make my way, slowly but surely, through my Reader.

Leave a Reply

