NPM: Today really is Poem in Your Pocket Day

No, seriously. Today really is Poem in my Pocket Day. So if you thought you missed it yesterday, you didn’t. Here’s the poem that I’m carrying around:

Welcome Morning

by Anne Sexton

 

There is joy

in all:

in the hair I brush each morning,

in the Cannon towel, newly washed,

that I rub my body with each morning,

in the chapel of eggs I cook

each morning,

in the outcry from the kettle

that heats my coffee

each morning,

in the spoon and the chair

that cry “hello, there, Anne”

each morning,

in the godhead of the table

that I set my silver, plate, cup upon

each morning.

 

All this is God,

right here in my pea-green house

each morning

and I mean,

though often forget,

to give thanks,

to faint down by the kitchen table

in a prayer of rejoicing

as the holy birds at the kitchen window

peck into their marriage of seeds.

 

So while I think of it,

let me paint a thank-you on my palm

for this God, this laughter of the morning,

lest it go unspoken.

 

The Joy that isn’t shared, I’ve heard

dies young.

 

From, Good Poems: Selected and Introduced by Garrison Keillor

11 thoughts on “NPM: Today really is Poem in Your Pocket Day

  1. This is a particularly inspiring and wonderful poem, and I have to agree with Serena, those lines are simply beautiful. Great poem to be carrying in your pocket today!

  2. beautiful & in the spirit of sharing.

    Ahh, Mist – Xiao Kaiyu

    A mountain top? A house? A person?
    please don’t breathe out again
    please don’t put today to sleep
    please don’t force it out, don’t
    please don’t open your mouth
    please don’t believe in the buoyancy of air

    and let down a first well-meaning desire
    let down a hand held out
    a dazzling face
    an intoxicating waist
    a morning light held close too long
    a silently burning scruple

    My damp body has already reached noon
    my luke-warm heart is already in middle years
    I watch the mist scatter into a feeble sunlight
    I pass through a thicket of statues
    open a book from which almost all type-face has fled
    encourage a very small dream

  3. This poem is truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing it. I have read some Anne Sexton before, but never this poem. Of what I’ve read, this is definitely my favorite.

  4. I love the phrase “chapel of eggs”–she’s right, they totally look like little congregants sitting in the egg carton like that. Thanks for posting. I had read Sexton’s Transformations and didn’t love it, but you’ve inspired me to give her another try.

  5. That is a beautiful, and most worthy, poem to carry in your pocket. And in your head. And to refer to throughout one’s day as a reminder to be grounded in what is good.

  6. Such a lovely poem and reminder to be grateful for every day and all of the small things that make our lives beautiful. Thanks for sharing this one.

Leave a Reply

