Read-a-thon: End of the Event Survey

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?  None. I went to sleep and totally forgot about the read-a-thon.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? A few titles off the top of my head: The Hunger Games, A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (chunkster but a page turner), and Boneshaker by Cherie Priest.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The different hosts who alternated through the event. They kept things fresh.
  5. How many books did you read?  I read five books, dnf one, and started two more.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? The Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett, Gideon by Olivier Dunrea, Gideon and Otto by Olivier Dunrea, Bake Sale by Sara Varon, and Lunch Lady and the Mutant Mathletes by Jarrett Kroscoka. The DNF (did not finish) book was A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. The two books I started were Learned Optimism by Martin Seligman (for school) and MWF seeking BFF by Rachel Bertische.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? It’s probably a tie between The Wyrd Sisters and Bake Sale
  8. Which did you enjoy least? A Homemade Life. I was expecting it to be more like Michael Lee West’s foodie memoir Consuming Passions but it’s not as interesting or funny. I should have just re-read Consuming Passions.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I wasn’t a cheerleader this time around and I have no advice to give.
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely. I’ll probably sign up for a few committees and cheerlead next time.
12 thoughts on “Read-a-thon: End of the Event Survey

  1. I am totally impressed by the fact that you read five books and started two more! All that with not being worried about the daunting hours and going to bed? Loved that first line, too! I only read snatches of Midnight’s Children, Baltasar and Blimunda and the only book I finished was Cheerful Weather for The Wedding. But, it was only 110-something pages. Not daunting to say the least.

  2. Yay readathon! I’m so glad you liked the different hosts. That was a very last-minute effort and it ended up working out really well. Then all the different hosts can have time to read, the twitter always has someone there monitoring, answering questions, etc, and no one gets burnt out. I don’t know about you, but I just don’t think I can do 24 hours anymore. Well… I’ve never done it. But the one year She and I did it together, we made it through 18 hours, which is pretty good! I’m looking forward to helping out with the readathon in October!

    1. Lu, having so many different hosts was such a great idea. I’ve lasted about 20 hours before. I was hosting, reading, cheerleading and I think I’m still experiencing burnout. :-) You can count on me to help out in October.

  3. I completely missed the ReadA Thon this year. Although you can’t tell by the reviews I post, I am reading more that I usually am when the even happens, so I wasn’t so much in need of it this time around.
    20 hrs of reading is quite impressive!! Sounds like a great weekend!

  4. Sounds like you had a great read-a-thon even though you feel asleep. I’ve had MWF seeking BFF on my list of books to investigate so I look forward to your thoughts.

    I hope you were able to finish the school work you need to do. October works a little bit better for me school wise as typically have two months not three weeks to go when the read-a-thon rolls around. I was stressed yesterday trying to finish it all after taking almost all of Saturday for the read-a-thon.

    1. Christina, even though I didn’t read for a really long period of time, I still have so much homework to do. It’s like it multiplies while I’m not looking. I hope you were able to get everything done.

      1. Sorry you weren’t able to get much done. I think my homework is like cartoon rabbits; it’s always multiplying when I turn my back on it. I was able to get most of my final paper for one class done, which I finished today, and start a good chunk of the next one. Good luck with all your work!

Leave a Reply

