A read-a-thon in bits and pieces: another update

In previous read-a-thons, I’ve signed up the second reader sign-ups were opened, gathered huge stacks of books to read, and tried to read the whole 24 hours. This season’s read-a-thon is being done pretty differently because I have some homework that I can’t ignore this weekend. Instead of doing the usual, I waited until the last minute to sign-up, gathered the smallest stack ever, and will read an hour here and there.

Here’s my read-a-thon stack:

  • What to Look for in Winter: A Memoir in Blindness by Candia McWilliam
  • MWF seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend by Rachel Bertsche
  • The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  • Paying for It by Chester Brown
  • Learned Optimism by Martin Seligman
  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Millar
  • A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
  • Inner Excavation: Explore Your Self Through Photography, Poetry, and Mixed Media by Liz Lamoreux
  • The Wyrd Sistersby Terry Pratchett (on my Nook)

I really plan on spending most of my time reading the first 100 pages of A Game of Thrones with M from Buried in Print for our read-along. I also plan on finishing The Wyrd Sisters too. Now that I’m thinking about it, maybe I’ll read a few more books too?

Introductory Questionaire:

1. What part of the world are you reading from today? Southern California

2. Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Hmmm. . . maybe Game of Thrones but I am really curious about MWF seeking BFF.

3. Which snack are you most looking forward to? I’m going to say my coffee though I do plan on buying some delicious Florentines later from the bakery.

4. Tell us something about yourself. I’m a college student, a person who loves fall and winter, and making collages in my art journal though I don’t do it often enough.

 5. If you’ve participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you would do differently? I think the main thing is that I didn’t volunteer for anything this time around so I’m only participating as a reader.

My coffee pot’s stopped so I’m off to enjoy a cup of coffee. Are you read-a-thoning today?

Hours 4 and 5 Update

Finished: Wyrd Sisters. It was a nice book. I’m definitely going to read the next book in the series later on.

Up Next: My psych textbook and a few journal articles. I need to write two small papers this weekend. After that, I’m hoping to read Inner Excavation by Liz Lamoreux. It’s a book about art journaling. It’s either that or The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison.

Food: 3 cups of coffee and some dirty rice.

Blogs visited/comments left: Anywhere between 20-30.

Where I’m currently reading at: My desk. Later I’ll probably go read in bed. I’m getting a little sleepy. More coffee? :-)

Hour 12 Update

I haven’t finished a book since my last update. I ended up taking a three-hour nap. I just made the kids hamburgers and cleaned up a bit so now I’m back.

Currently reading: Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin and A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table by Molly Wizenburg

Food: Hamburgers including one with a fried egg and another one with bacon, eggs, and cheese.

Reading spot: I’m still at my desk.

Blogs visited/comments left: 10?

Mid-Event Survey

1. How are you doing? Are you sleepy? Tired? I’m doing pretty good so far. It might be because I’m on my fifth cup of coffee. ;-)

2. What have you finished reading?  To keep myself going, I started reading children’s books about an hour ago. So far I’ve read Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett,  Gideon by Olivier Dunrea, Gideon and Otto by Olivier Dunrea, Lunch Lady and the Mutant Mathletes by Jarrett J. Krosoczka,  and several pages in Games of Thrones. I’m pretty disappointed but I don’t plan to stop reading until tomorrow night at least.

3. What is your favorite read so far? Wyrd Sisters though I though the Gideon books were sweet.

4. What about your favorite snacks? Florentines!

5. How you found any new blogs during the read-a-thon? A few but I haven’t really been visiting new blogs.

32 thoughts on “A read-a-thon in bits and pieces: another update

  1. So loved A Game of Thrones…in my opinion, you’re in for a real treat. Well, that and florentines as well. Yum! Don’t get too stoked on the coffee, eh? XO Reading along with you, here in Illinois.

  2. Game of Thrones! Yes. Every chapter ends with a little cliffhanger and I could not stop reading.

    Glad you were able to squeeze in a little time for the readathon!

  3. Good luck with your plans today!

    I’m kinda curious about MWF seeking BFF. It is difficult to find friends when you move to a new area, which I’ve done lately. It’s not too far from where I grew up, but far enough that it makes it difficult to get together with friends.

    1. MJ, I agree. It’s really hard trying to make friends as an adult. Maybe it’s because we’re all caught up in our own interests and families. Now I feel like putting my current read on hold to pick up MWF. I hope you’re enjoying the read-a-thon.

  4. Wow, you’re doing great with the visiting and the reading and the studying! I’ve sucked at the former, unfortunately, but I figure the ‘thon is young. There’s still time for me to get out there and cheer a few people on. :)

  5. Cheers!!! YAY! Wyrd Sisters is a fantastic book! I’ve read and reread nearly all of Terry Pratchett’s amazing work! Also have them on Audible for when I need a laugh. :D

    Hope your day is fun!

    NovaReylin @ CrtMusings.com [Cheer Team:Puck]

    1. The Wyrd Sisters is definitely a fantastic book! I can’t believe it’s my first Pratchett. It definitely won’t be my last. Thanks for visiting!

  6. Have you been following the MWF blog as well? Interesting reading. Song of Achilles just entered my house and I am SO excited about it, but not as excited that you’re reading Wyrd Sisters! TP for the win :) Hope you’re having a fab readathon, I’m cheering then off to craaaaaash.

  7. Love the readathon-y pictures. I feel like most of the blogs I’m visiting today aren’t posting any fun pictures, which I can’t really blame them because when I read, I don’t, but it’s still fun to see. Hope that pesky homework is out of the way and you’re enjoying some great reading! =)

Leave a Reply

