Weekend Cooking: Spotlighting The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook

Weekend Cooking is a weekly meme hosted by Candace over at Beth Fish Reads. Have a food-related posted this week, why not join the fun?

One of my goals for this year is to cook something with my daughter every week. She’s ten and has decided that she wants to be a chef when she’s older. So each week, we’ve been in the kitchen fixing some of our favorite meals together.

I recently found out about The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook by Cheryl and Griffith Day. I love looking through cookbooks but I love cookbooks that focus on sweets more, so I was pretty interested. The book is expensive and my library doesn’t have a copy, so I decided to wait before I bought it. My waiting paid off because the cookbook was featured as a Nook Find just a few days ago. I hurried and bought a copy.

I’ve been reading the cookbook and there are many recipes that I want to try like the Cinnamon-Sour Cream Coffee. Or maybe I’ll try the couple’s Ham and Cheese Pastry Puffs. What I really like is that in the beginning of the book, the authors explain the importance of temperature and gives readers a list of the spices used throughout the book. Readers can easily go from one recipe to the next without worrying if a certain spice is in stock. Another great thing about this cookbook is that a picture is included with each recipe. I hate trying to figure out whether or not my creation looks like it’s supposed to.

Have you discovered any new cookbooks this week?

 

17 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Spotlighting The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook

  1. Any puff pastry is a winner with me and the Ham and Cheese Pastry Puffs sound yummy. A good way to use up leftover Easter ham, I bet. I’m not sure I’d like to cook from a Nook book, but I like the idea of saving some money and shelf space.

  2. I’m going to my sister’s later today for a wine pairing party. I happened upon a book called WIne Bites which my daughter accidentally left here at Christmas. Inside it, I found a recipe for Pita and Feta Nachos which I’ll be taking with a bottle of rosé.

    I wasn’t much for cooking with my children; it was my therapy. I hope you enjoy cooking with your daughter! That can make such special moments! What have you two cooked so far?

    1. Edi, we’ve cooked a lot of things so far like homemade bread, roasted chicken, and enchiladas casserole. I’m going to have to look up Wine Bites. I would love to see a picture of the Pita and feta Nachos! Have fun at your sister’s!

  3. I was looking through the Weight Watchers Power Foods Cookbook today, and a lot of the recipes in there look decent. I especially like that they provide ideas for sides with the main dishes. I hate figuring out whole meals, so that’s a bonus. Not sure if I’m going to buy it yet, but I’m tempted.

  4. I like cooking with my kids! My third son and I invented a wing recipe that we are locally (very locally – LOL!) famous for! My daughter makes great pasta…she loves our hand crank pasta machine – which is pretty similar to some of the toys that come with play-do, so that may be part of the draw ;) I found a new cookbook this week at the library – Japanese! Its on my Weekend Cooking this week! I noticed a lot of us talked about cookbooks…

  5. I think it’s great for you to encourage your daughter’s interest and what a great opportunity to spend time together, too! My daughter and I worked out a cooking blog together for a year or and it was a great experience. This cookbook (and the puff pastry recipe) sounds like a good one.

  6. Photos in a cookbook are essential for me.

    I posted about a Spanish cookbook in my Weekend Cooking post this week but we did also have another cookbook come into my house as one of my son’s Easter presents. It was a very old fashioned cookbook and I am not sure that we will cook much out of it as it very much reflects the cooking tastes of 75 years ago. The first recipe that my son opened the book to was fried offal so it wasn’t a great start!

  7. I’m so glad you are spending time cooking/baking with your daughter. That will be a link that will stay with both of you the rest of your life. My daughters and I did the same thing. Today, “food” is a language we speak and share with each other.

  8. I have a niece who is ten and also wants to be a chef. I hope you and your daughter have lots of fun cooking together, it really is a wonderful experience and a way to get closer with her. Have a great time!

  9. This book sounds like a great new discovery. I have two cookbooks I am currently checking out for review. But which ones I will not tell yet :) I like to keep it a surprise for future weekend cookings :)

  10. That coffee sounds really interesting! I like the pics for inspiration, but I don’t find my own versions ever look as nice because their serving wear is usually sooo nice. I’ve been rediscovering the cookbooks on my own shelves; I tend to go through phases where I use them loyally, and then abandon them and make all the things that I know by heart and skip through some new borrowed cookbooks for inspiration. (Can I still say loyal there, when it’s followed immediately with talk of abandonment!?)

  11. This books seems to have exploded on GoodReads lately. Everyone has it or wants it. I’ll wait until the price is a bit lower…

Comments are closed.