Spring Reading Thing 2012

March 20, 2012 – June 20, 2012

Hosted at Callapidder Days

If you didn’t know that today was the first day of spring, you wouldn’t be able to tell by looking out my window. It’s nice and cold outside, perfect winter weather. So it seems a little funny to be making a list of books I want to read for spring. I missed last year’s Spring Reading Thing, a seasonal “challenge”, and I refuse to miss it again this year.

I decided to dedicate this year’s SRT to my many stacks of unread books. This idea came to me yesterday after “finding” an under-bed shoe storage filled with books. I think that’s one of the great things about Spring Reading Thing is that participants are encouraged to make goals. It’s not just the amount of books to read but anything else you can think of.

One of my goals is to read at least fifteen of my own books within the next three months. It doesn’t have to be the fifteen books on this list but it needs to be fifteen. I’ve own The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot since its publication in 2009. I even pre-ordered it and still haven’t read it. If I don’t read it by the end of this challenge, I’m going to give it away to my local public library. Which leads me to my second goal:

  • Give away at least ten books by June 20th. If I don’t miss the 30+ books under my bed, I won’t miss the ten that I plan on giving away. I’m thinking of this as my own bookish spring cleaning.

Last but not least is to have at least one read-along with my daughter. She’s ten and hasn’t read The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett yet. It’s been a reading tradition of mine to read it every spring. I already bought her the book and movie version. Now it’s time to read it to her. Maybe I’ll give her a package of seeds to go with it. I think she’ll like that. If the read-along is a success, we can add Natalie Babbit’s Tuck Everlasting in June. It’s one of my favorite summer reads.

My pool of books:

  1. Head Off and Split by Nikki Finney (poetry)
  2. Land to Light On by Dionne Brand (poetry)
  3. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver (non-fiction)
  4. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (non-fiction)
  5. Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson (middle grade)
  6. The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
  7. A Mercy by Toni Morrison
  8. Hate that Cat by Sharon Creech (poetry)
  9. The Humming Room by Ellen Potter (middle grade)
  10. Sula by Toni Morrison
  11. Alcestis by Katharine Beutner
  12. What Looks Like Crazy on An Ordinary Day by Pearl Cleage
  13. No Regrets Parenting by Harley A. Rotbart (non-fiction)
  14. The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman
  15. Among Others by Jo Walton (young adult)
  16. The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier
  17. Wonder by R.J. Pollacio (middle grade)
  18. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (young adult)
  19. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett (middle grade)
  20. Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith (middle grade)
  21. The Rock and the River by Kekla Magoon (middle grade)
  22. Cousins by Virginia Hamilton (middle grade)
  23. An Altar in the World by Barbara Brown Taylor (non-fiction)

So that’s what I’m planning this spring. Have you started thinking about your spring reading? Are you joining Spring Reading Thing this year?

28 thoughts on “Spring Reading Thing 2012

  1. What a great idea! I had not heard of the Spring Reading Challenge, and so hope that I can participate in it! I have to tell you though, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is a MUST read. I didn’t think I would enjoy it half as much as I did, which is a strange thing to say about a book that deals with cancer. I wish you a lot of success with your spring reading, and hope that you get all your books read!

  2. You have some great, great books on your list. I really want to read Flygirl — I’ve had a copy for while now.

  3. Great idea! I’ve only read a few from your list – Henrietta Lacks was interesting – and there are a few on there that I want to get to before the year is out (hopefully). And having a readalong with your daughter sounds like fun!

  4. That looks like quite a list – I have Henrietta Lacks in my stash but it didn’t make my list this time around. I remember loving The Secret Garden when I was little – I don’t think my daughter has read that – I must find it for her.

  5. Giving away books is a great resolution. I’ve promised my husband that for every book that comes into the house from now on, at least one – and if possible, two – go out.

  6. Great list! I’ve been wanting to read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks for awhile. And I love your donation goal – what a terrific idea! Good luck with your challenge!

  7. I really enjoyed Wonder! I’m curious about The Rock and The River, I’ve been meaning to read that one for a few years now.

  8. Good luck with your list! there are definitely a few you have on there I’d like to read as well.

  9. Oh you do have to get to The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. Once you start you will not be able to put it down. It’s hard to believe it is true and not science fiction. Happy Reading!

  10. I joined this challenge the very first year, but I haven’t since… Good luck with it! I hope if you do read those poetry collections you will post about them for the Poetry event Lu and I host every month.

  11. Love the idea of giving books away to the library! I use Paperback Swap to get rid of books I no longer want or have already read in exchange for books I do want, but I am thinking that giving some to the library is even a better idea! :)

    My list also consists of books that have been on my shelf for far too long!! So many books…so little time! :)

    Happy Spring! Have fun reading! :)

  12. I’ve tasked myself with reading this year what I’ve bought this year (and, well, for Christmas last year). I’m not a fast reader. It’s going to be rough. ;)

    Good luck on your list!

  13. What a great combination: something for every reading mood. I just finished my first John Green novel this week (Looking for Alaska); I’m sure if I was part of his target audience right now, I’d have copies of all of them and they’d be dog-eared beyond recognition. I’ve had Hamilton’s Cousins on my list for ages, but haven’t gotten there yet. Though it’s tempting, I’m not joining this particular challenge because I’m already finding it hard to keep the others I’ve joined updated, but I do expect a busy reading spring. Good luck with your stack!

  14. I couldn’t resist and am joining in on the fun of this challenge as well! Good luck…it looks like you’ve got lots of good reading ahead of you!

  15. I want to adopt your list. I haven’t read any of them! Shame on me! But I have a pile of books to read too, so that’s my spring resolve – to read as many of my own books as possible!

  16. Good luck with the challenge. I read Sula years ago and became a fan of Toni Morrisons immediately.
    Have fun reading with your daughter :)

  17. This sounds like a wonderful way to just list what you hope will be read by the end of spring. Your list, btw, is very inspiring. I, of course, haven’t read anything on your list, but I do own The Memory of Love and hope to read that this year. I heard it was a wonderful book.

  18. I admire your decision to read books you already own and to get rid of a bunch, too. I am kind of on the same quest — bookshelves are full yet I keep going to the library. So I have recently read a few from my own shelves: Bel Canto, I Capture the Castle (excellent, by the way; written in the ’40s by the same lady who wrote 101 Dalmations), What I Saw and How I Lied. They are all being passed on to others. Lots more to go :)

  19. Good luck with your reading! I read The Secret Garden to my boys a few months ago and they loved it. The only thing I didn’t do was voice the accents and some of the formal pronouns got changed to “you” instead just for ease of reading and understanding for my kids. We’re reading the Percy Jackson series now.

Comments are closed.