Wanderlove

You may not know this but my word for 2012 is Wanderlust. I’m not a person who often travels but this year, I want to get out and explore the world around me. So you can imagine my excitement when I found out about Wanderlove.

Wanderlove is a site that collects and displays pictures from places all over the world. Whether you enjoy traveling or you’re just an armchair traveler, one glance at the site and your imagination will fly.

The site is the brainchild of Kirsten Hubbard. Kirsten is also an author whose debut novel of the same name is being published on March 13th by Random House. The book is the story of a teenage girl who dreams of traveling around the world and gets her wish. Right now there’s a contest going on and Kirsten has been asking for submissions for the site. As a bonus, if you submit a picture of your travels whether an exotic place or just your backyard before March 5th, you’ll be entered to win a special copy of Wanderlove. To enter, send your picture to wanderbooks at gmail (dot) com.

This may sound silly but there are a few indie bookstores in my city that I haven’t visited yet. Plus, there’s a section of my city called Retro Row that I’ve haven’t been to in years. There’s even an old-fashioned movie theatre that plays art films during the day and The Rocky Horror Picture Show at night. Now that I’m thinking about it, I think I should make a special trip down there really soon.

Since we’re on the subject on traveling, what’s your favorite place to travel to? Is there some place that you dream of travelling to but haven’t had the chance yet?

14 thoughts on “Wanderlove

  1. Wow, very cool site indeed!!! Thanks for the link.

    I love traveling up to Mt. Shasta which is very close to my home (and also Mt. Lassen)…but I also love, love, love Oregon and I love to visit the coast. I have been dreaming of traveling to Italy – and next year (2013) is the year that me and my husband are going!! We’ve been saving money for the last 2 years so that we can go and have a blast. I am so excited – it will be to celebrate 10 years of being married and we plan on staying close to 3 weeks. I can’t wait :)

  2. Yes! So many places. :) I’ve always wanted to travel to Mongolia, Egypt, and Haiti. I would never pass up an opportunity to go to those three places! As for places I’ve been, Paris is my favorite city and Italy is my favorite country. In the US, I really like visiting Taos.

    1. N, you picked some exciting places while I stuck to my city! :-) You’ve been to Paris and Italy?! I’m jealous. I would love to go to Italy.

  3. My favorite places that I have traveled are Victoria, BC – because it has a very European feel – and the Oregon Coast, because it’s beautiful. :) If I could go anywhere in the world, I’d go to – surprise! – Ireland.

  4. This is so great! I am a person who sticks close to home, but longs to travel one day when time and money allows. I would love to see England and Ireland, as well as some different places around the U.S. So far, I’ve only visited a few states, but I would love to explore the world around me a little more. Great post today!

  5. I definitely want to explore more of the city that I live in too. Beyond those borders, but still in Canada, I’ve always wanted to go to P.E.I., to visit Anne of Green Gables’ country, and might just get there yet!

    Love the look of the Richey Public Library on that site, the NH woods, and the trail in Muir, CA … all places that I’d like to visit, too (just in this moment, while browsing, I mean, not lifelong dreams or anything).

  6. I feel like we haven’t gone exploring since I was pregnant. Before Gage we traveled quite a bit. I hoping that we can do a few out of town weekend trips to get up out of the house!

  7. London is my favorite place, but I love to explore new places, too. I’m hoping my next big trip will be Ireland, although I’m not sure when that will happen.

  8. Oh, what an interesting website. That’s exactly my type of things!
    Places I want to see, there are so many! At the top of the list though, would be Egypt and Italy. I would love to go back to France though to explore more than Paris!

Comments are closed.