Sunday Salon

Good morning! For the past few Sundays, I’ve been sharing with you all the things I’m grateful for and least grateful for from the previous week. Today is no different.

Most Grateful for:

  • I’m less overwhelmed by my school work. It’s been pretty hard being a mom and taking almost the maximum amount of units this semester. I think what’s saving me from insanity is the fact that I’m enjoying most of the subjects except math.
  • Family! My mom is so supportive of me. Yesterday she bought me a new printer since the two that I already owned were breaking down. Plus, she watches my kids so I can go to my evening psychology class. I don’t know where I would be without her.
  • Jill Scott’s music. If you don’t listen to her, you should change that.
  • LetterMo! Yes, I’m always adding it to my list on Sundays but it’s such a great feeling to receive snail mail. This is the last week of LetterMo but I’m still going to keep it up. I have about ten letters to mail off this week.
  • The fact that I finished two books last week: Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral along with How to Be Black by Baratunde Thurston, which was a hilarious read. 
  • Poetry! I’m dipping in and out of a ton of haiku collections right now including Basho: The Complete Haiku by Matsuo Basho and translated by Jane Reichhold.

Least Grateful for:

 

  • The feeling that I’m in an Adele song. There’s a guy I’ve been crushing on (not-so-secretly either) for the past few years. Yesterday, I found out that he’s dating my neighbor. It’s really time to move. Did I mention he looks like Orlando Bloom?
  • The lack of blog writing, reading, and commenting. This week I want to do much better.

With poetry, my mom, and LetterMo, there’s so much to be grateful for. What are you grateful for this weekend?