Events

The results are in!

Next month’s read for the African American Read-In is:

Click to enlarge.

Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes!

Here’s more about the book from the publisher’s description:

Twelve-year-old Lanesha lives in a tight-knit community in New Orleans’ Ninth Ward. She doesn’t have a fancy house like her uptown family or lots of friends like the other kids on her street. But what she does have is Mama Ya-Ya, her fiercely loving caretaker, wise in the ways of the world and able to predict the future. So when Mama Ya-Ya’s visions show a powerful hurricane–Katrina–fast approaching, it’s up to Lanesha to call upon the hope and strength Mama Ya-Ya has given her to help them both survive the storm.

Ninth Ward is a deeply emotional story about transformation and a celebration of resilience, friendship, and family–as only love can define it.

I’m really surprised about the results. For days,  A Lesson Before Dying and Fences were neck-and-neck for the top spot. Ninth Ward is already on my tbr list so I can’t wait to start reading. Remember, discussions start February 22nd.  Thanks to everyone who voted.

20 thoughts on “The results are in!”

  1. Amazon has the hardcover edition of Ninth Ward on sale for $6.40. Can’t wait to start reading this one again. Vasilly you’ll be able to count this torwards your TBR Double Dare challenge. Loving the pie chart it makes everything so official and its nice to see that the votes were evenly distributed

  2. My library has this one so I am making an exception to the TBR Dare and putting it on hold. Can’t wait to red it and join the discussion.

  3. This seems to be an unexpected choice, but it sounds like a good one! I hope that I get the chance to read along! Thanks for keeping us up to date about the voting and the decision!

  4. Ooooh….I really think I may join in on this one even though I’m SO sick of Katrina books. But I really love Jewel Parker Rhodes and that cover is just absolutely gorgeous! And this does sound like a different kind of Katrina book. It’s just a subject that us here in New Orleans are so sick of hearing about, lol. We want it to be OVER! LOL. Think I’m going to join you though 😉

  5. This sounds great, I’m so disappointed about my stupid buying ban challenge with my roommate. Am definitely adding this to my want to read list for later.

      1. That is true, my issue is that I’m never home long enough to be able to read and return it in time! I might see though. I think I have half a week later this month…. 😉

  6. Our public library doesn’t have this one on its shelves, which would have made this a shoo-in for a February read for me, but I’ll see if I can find a way to purchase it nonetheless. So, I’m a maybe, a hopeful maybe. (Close contest, indeed!)

  7. I am going to join in this one too! I hope my library has it cause I am trying not to buy an new books for awhile. BTW, is there a button for the Read-in I can add to the blog. Thanks!!!

    1. Ninth Ward was recieved and was the first middle grade book about Hurrican Katrina so its a good chance your library will have it. No Read In Button, but please still spread the word. Thanks.

Comments are closed.