Chunky Book Club and Indie Lit Awards Shortlist

The poll results are in! Four books stood out above the rest as this year’s picks for the Chunky Book Club. Here’s this year’s selection and reading schedule:

11/23/63 by Stephen King starts our first discussion in March.

The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna is a great way to start the summer in June.

Fall of Giants by Ken Follett will help readers welcome Autumn in.

From what I’ve read about Julie Orringer’s The Invisible Bridge, it’s the perfect way to end the year.

Here’s the thing: you don’t have to be a participant of the Chunkster Challenge to join us in the book club. So if any of these books look interesting to you, why not join us? The discussion posts will go up at the beginning of that particular month and discussions will start around the 15 th except in December when they will start on the 5th.

Indie Lit Awards

The short lists for the Indie Lit Awards have been announced!  The awards cover various genres from fiction to non-fiction to GLBTQ. After looking at the lists, there are so many books I’m interested in reading. The winners will be announced in several months.  Congratulations to the authors whose work made the list.

10 thoughts on “Chunky Book Club and Indie Lit Awards Shortlist

  1. I’m quite interested in three of these Chunksters, but I’m not sure about Follett’s; I’m sure someone will change my mind on that in the months to come.

    I haven’t investigated all the Indie Lit nominees yet, but I already recognize several titles on my TBR list on their shortlists so naturally that does make me more curious about the ones that i don’t know straight off.

    Several months of good reading there, by the looks of it, Vasilly!

  2. These are great choices, and I am planning on reading at lest a couple of them, so I will be sure to look for the discussion posts when they start becoming available! Thanks!

  3. I’m very tempted to join you for the 11/23/63 read – if I can get my head around the ebook version costing more than the hardcover version OR get my hold from the library by then!

  4. The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna sounds like a great read! I hadn’t heard about it before but I will be on the lookout for that one, seems like an interesting read!

  5. I think that I should go ahead and put the King book on hold. I’ve heard really good things about it and have been looking forward to reading it. Sounds like fun :)

Leave a Reply

