It’s Monday! What are you reading?

I hope everyone is having a great holiday season. One of our trees is already packed up and the big one will be back in its box this afternoon. It seems like it takes forever for Christmas to get here and then it’s gone so fast! Can you believe that this is the last Friday of the year? There are so many things that I want to accomplish in 2012 that I can’t wait for it to get here.

So last week I told you guys of my huge goal to read a book until the end of winter break, which is the second week of January. So far I’m doing great though I haven’t been able to write even one review yet. I read a ton of children’s books plus:

  • Moonwalking with Einstein by Joshua Foer
  • The Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • Scenes from an Impending Marriage: A Prenuptial Memoir by Adrian Tomine

DNF-ed:

  • Briefs by John Edgar Wideman
  • A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot

The TBR Dare is right around the corner and I still have a stack of library books to get through. So here’s this week’s stack:

 

  • Situations Matter: Understanding How Context Transforms Your World by Sam Sommers
  • Witches on the Road Tonight by Sheri Holman
  • I Love Yous are for White People: a memoir by Lac Su
  • The Book of Imaginary Beings by Jorge Luis Borges
  • The Grief of Others by Leah Hager Cohen (left over from last week)
  • The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright (left over from last week)
  • A Thousand Saints by Eleanor Henderson

Fingers crossed that I can get through this stack. What are you reading this week?

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Our son and nephew got here last Thursday. Our nephew left today, but our son will be here for a few more days. Needless to say, I’ve gotten very little reading done, but I don’t care. I’ll be watching for your review of Cinder.

  2. I need to add Moonwalking with Einstein to my wishlist again. It came in for me at the library, but I was neck-deep in Cybils. And I need to get your thoughts on Night Circus…since you are my reading twin, I feel certain you can help me decide if I should buy it or not!

    • Deb, The Night Circus is a great book. There’s more emphasis on the setting and the circus itself than on character development. I really enjoyed it though it had some flaws. I think you should borrow it.

  3. My fingers are crossed with you, and I hope that you make all your goals right on time! I hope that you have a really lovely week, and that your New Year is amazing!

  4. Congrats on getting so many books read! I’m really excited to know your thoughts on The Grimm Legacy if you decide to review it. I also had no idea Adrian Tomine had written Scenes from an Impending Marriage. I like his work a lot. :)

  5. Wait, what?! you dnf-ed A Wish After Midnight?! Nooooooo! I really want to read this. Did it just not fit your tastes right now or did you run out of time/conflict with a better book? WHAT? do tell.

Comments are closed.