It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey.

I have a confession to make: for the last few weeks I haven’t been participating in this meme because I thought I was organized enough that I didn’t need to list that I wanted to read on a weekly basis. I was so wrong. My reading has trickled, something that I really don’t need it to do since school starts in three weeks. I want to read as much as I can before then. I’ve learned my lesson and now I’m back!

I was thinking that since I have 21 days before the start of the new semester, maybe I could read a book a day. I don’t have any plans for the holiday besides cooking.  So here’s my stack this week:

Moonwalking with Einstein: The Art and Science of Remembering Everything by Joshua Foer (currently reading)

The Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman

The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright

The Grief of Others by Leah Hager Cohen

Ten Letters: The Stories Americans Tell Their President by Eli Saslow

Briefs: Stories for the Palm of the Mind by John Edgar Wideman

A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot

I broke it down and it comes to 293 pages a day. I’m pretty sure that I can do it. I know the non-fiction might slow me down a little bit. Plus I have three short books that I’ve already read but need to review. So that’s what I’m reading. What are you reading this week?

23 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Wow, a book a day? I am totally impressed!!! I’m really interested in Anne Enright’s book – I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it. Happy reading!

  2. Approximately 300 pages a day? Wow! On an average day I can squeeze in 50 pages, not much more. Good luck with finishing these books :) A Wish after Midnight and the book by Joshua Foer look very interesting. Hope you’ll find them all enjoyable reads.

  3. Wow! You are so ambitious and amazing! I am hoping to read the rest of The Language of Flowers and a Christmas book this week, but I am not sure which one! Good luck with your reading plans!

  4. Oh wow, I’ll be looking out for the results of your experiment! I can read 100 pages on an average day (often more, sometimes less), and probably 200-250 if I push it. But of course, it depends on the type of book.

    Good luck, I hope you’ll manage it, it would be brilliant. I also hope no-one will find you boring! :-)

  5. Excellent plan, and if anyone can do this, IT’S YOU!! I think you’re one of the fastest readers I know. I’m also thinking of putting together a plan for the break. At least for the days Greyson is in daycare — I should be able to knock off some serious reading!

  6. Hi. :)

    I just saw “The Grief of Others” on our library display shelf, and I really wanted to check it out. Unfortunately, I have about 15 books checked out as it is. Let us know how it is.

    Good luck and have fun!

  7. Isn’t it funny how our reading changes when we’re not paying attention? I think my lack of reading the past two years has much to do with the fact that I’m not counting books anymore (though it does make it tough to make a list at year-end!).

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas with your family Natasha. :)

  8. Best of luck on your goal. I’ve got to work until Wednesday and then I am off the rest of the year and hope to get lots of reading done.

  9. Good luck with the book a day!

    Moonwalking w/ Einstein is one of the many, many books I have sitting around that I read the first chapter and then moved on to something else. Not because I didn’t like, just because I got distracted.

  10. I was just talking about he Moonwalking Einstein book at a family party. LOVE talking books at parties – I’m sure I’m obnoxious. (no, haven’t read it. yet.)

    Thanks for reminder to put Zetta Elliott on my mustreadlist.

  11. For some reason I thought you’d already read A Wish After Midnight. (which I loved) I hope you enjoy it. 293 pages a day is very doable.

  12. Good luck on your book-a-day! I’m tempted to try with you but I know it would be an epic fail this week. But next week, that’s another story. Going to my shelves now to pick my 6 books.

  13. Good luck on all that reading! The last full break I had (between semesters) I tried to read 3000 pages in 30 days, but didn’t quite make it. I get so distracted talking to my family and hanging out with friends when I go home, it’s hard to read.

  14. Loved Moonwalking With Einstein for its conversational tone (like great dinner conversation) and its unashamed celebration of nerdiness. The section on education was also engaging and successfully highlights a dwindling prior knowledge that children bring to the classroom. Happy reading!

  15. I know what you mean about needing to keep lists, doing whateer it takes to stay organized! Otherwise, time just slips away. I hope you enjoy The Forgotten Waltz as much as I did. I found it a terribly, wonderfully, powerful read. We’ll talk. In the meantime, Merry Christmas! I remember when I was your Secret Santa, a few years ago, and it’s been good to be your friend ever since.

Comments are closed.