Weekend Reading

Being a bookworm, I’m lucky that any time I want to indulge in my passion I can. So that’s what I’m doing this weekend. I had a horrible day yesterday, so I’m staying at home until Monday. If I have my way, I’ll probably spend today curled up in bed with my stack of books.

  • Bless Me, Ultima by Rudolfo Anaya
  • When the Emperor was Divine by Julie Otsuka
  • Skellig by David Almond
  • Season to Taste by Molly Birnbaum
  • The Taste of Salt by Martha Southgate
  • The Unforgotten Coat by Frank Cottrell Boyce
  • Wonderstruck by David Selnick

Now I’m off to curl up with my books, chocolate, and some coffee. What are you reading this weekend?

16 thoughts on “Weekend Reading

  1. I’m sorry you had such a crappy day yesterday. Hopefully reading will cheer you up. I’m still working on 1Q84 and I’m hoping to finish it this weekend.

  2. Ugh, I had a horrible day yesterday too! Must have been something in the air! Today I’ll be working more on Zone One. I just recently finished The Taste of Salt and was disappointed so I’ll be so interested to hear what you think!

  3. Oooooh, sounds like the perfect weekend. I will be working all weekend, but my second job allows me to read at work, so hopefully I’ll get some reading done. I would rather do my reading in bed though!

  4. I love love love Skellig! There’s so much to discuss in that book. I’ve been using it in the Children’s Lit class I teach at the university for years, and my education majors love or hate it, but it always prompts a good chat.

  5. So sorry to hear you had such a bad day. Hope curling up with books for a couple of days helps! You’ve got a wonderful stack there. I loved Bless Me, Ultima. One of my fave books. Can’t wait to hear what you think :)

  6. So sorry but glad you know the time to say “Enough!” and retreat. Envying you Wonderstruck. Have not had time yet. Have a great reading weekend!

  7. Sounds like we had a similar couple of days. And the same idea of staying in bed all weekend and reading. I’m going to finish The House of Tomorrow and hopefully start The Dovekeepers

  8. That sounds like a fantastic idea. I think I’m house-bound myself, as I’m fighting off bronchitis. Maybe I’ll join you. You know, when the codeine lets me stay awake. lol Enjoy your reading vacation!

  9. Sorry about your bad day! That looks like a great stack of books. I don’t know what I’m going to read this weekend. I just finished The Sisters from Hardscrabble Bay, which enveloped me completely. I have no idea what to follow it up with…

  10. Oh no: I hate horrible days. But you’ve got the right remedy (er, remedies: I have the same stock at home for my horrible — and not-so horrible — days) close at hand. I’ve rejigged my schedule for today to stay at home and be bookish as well. I started Joan Leegant’s Wherever You Go last night and found the first 40 pages quite engaging, so I’ll probably continue with that, and choose something here for a re-read (many are clamouring…you know how that is). Have a better weekend!

  11. A weekend in sounds like the perfect way to remedy a bad day :) I’m curled up with hot chocolate and the computer and feel more relaxed than I have in two weeks. I hope that you enjoy your reads and that your weekend turned out better than it started. Have a great week!

Comments are closed.