Library Loot

Library Loot is a great weekly meme hosted by Marg at The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader and Claire from The Captive Reader

You know what I think the problem is when we say “too many books and not enough time”? It’s not the number of books that’s the problem but the number of options! I mean, I have at least 100+ unread books sitting on my shelves at any given time. I don’t feel overwhelmed by their numbers, it’s the books that I want to read right now that I feel overwhelmed by.

It’s really my fault. I’ve placed a huge number of books on hold. They’re coming in piles, whether electronically or physically, and I’m scrabbling to read them all. Here’s what is currently on my library shelf and e-reader:

Physical books

  • Skellig by David Almond.
  • Push Had Come to Shove by Dr. Steve Perry (non-fiction read about education)
  • Beginner’s Grace: Bringing Prayer to Life by Kate Braestrup (non-fiction)
  • Moonwalking with Einstein by Joshua Foer (non-fiction)
  • The Wisdom of the Radish: and other lessons learned on a small farm by Lynda Hopkins (reread)
  • If Jack’s in Love by Stephen Wetta
  • Disintergration: The Splintering of Black America by Eugene Robinson (non-fiction)
  • The Book of Lost Things by Jack Connolly
  • Locavesting: The Revolution in Local Investing and How to Profit from it by Amy Cortese (non-fiction)
  • Feynman by Jim Ottaviani (graphic non-fiction)


E-books

  • Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward
  • Willpower by Roy F. Braumeister (non-fiction)
  • The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht
  • Wildwood by Colin Meloy
  • The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness
  • Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

You see what I did to myself? Luckily most of the physical books can be renewed and I have three weeks for the e-books. Willpower will most likely be a DNF since I’m midway through and there’s no connection between the chapters. The same goes for the rest of the Chaos Walking series since I’m in the mood for non-fiction not fantasy. That’s my library loot. What did you check out from the library this week?

16 thoughts on “Library Loot

  1. I took home 3 graphic novels – Anya’s Ghost, & Persepolis I & II. I also have Ali Shaw’s The Girl with Glass Feet, and I got a call saying that Mr. Fox was ready for pick up. I read Anya’s Ghost today and have started The Girl With Glass Feet, although I’m not sold on it yet.

    The only one of yours I’ve read is The Tiger’s Wife. Your choices look very interesting!

    1. What did you think of Anya’s Ghost? From the reviews I’ve read of The Girl with the Glass Feet, it’s a book you either love or hate. Have you read Persepolis before? It’s an amazing read. You’ll probably enjoy book one better than book two. Happy reading.

  2. I just picked up my hold of If Jack’s in Love from the library today, along with three other books. The Fingertips of Duncan Dorfman by Wolitzer. Jasper Jones by Silvery and

    The Philosophy of Kant (for school, just glad its not Plato’s Republic. I’ve read so much of that this semester.) Though one thing I love about these books is deciphering the language. When I get it I appreicate how well they used the English language. But when it’s late and I am tired and I’ve read a sentence or paragraphs over and over with littler understanding all that goes out the window.

    1. Doret, I’ll take Kant over Plato’s Republic any day! I read it years ago for a philosophy class and it almost killed me. ) :-( Good luck with your class.

  3. I know what you mean about having so many choices and being paralyzed by them all. I have been thinking of getting some book out of the library, but have so many here that it would just be crazy for me to do so. I do want to read a few books that I have checked out on the blogs, so I might just be heading over to the library’s catalog myself anyway! You have some great things on that list. I am so glad to see you posting so frequently over here as well! It’s nice to open up my reader and see something here from you everyday!

  4. Looks like you’re going to have a busy month reading – I have a few piles coming in from the library as well, but I promised myself I would make no more lists of books to read and try to finish off everything on my current lists by the end of the year.

  5. Hope you like Skellig, The Ask and the Answer & Monsters of Men! I enjoyed the first two quite a bit. Haven’t had a chance to read Monsters of Men yet.

  6. I’ve had Moonwalking with Einstein on my Kindle since it came out. Hope to get to it after my Newbery crush is over. I decided not to read Monsters of Men, even though I thoroughly enjoyed the other two books as well as his ebook about Victoria. Just not enough time. Which has to change.

Comments are closed.