I’m up! I’m up! 24-Hour Read-a-thon

I woke up late but I’m here! Last night was the wrong night to have insomnia.

1st Hour Meme:

1. Where are you reading from? Southern California

2. Three random facts about me? I’m a huge daydreamer; I own a red and white men’s beach cruiser that I’ve named Dorothy, and I’ve donated more than 100 books to my local thrift store and public library this year.

3. How many books do you have in your tbr pile for the next 24 hours? 17 though that number will probably increase.

4. Any goals for the read-a-thon? Nope!

5. If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice to people doing this for the first time? Have fun and don’t put any pressure on yourself. This is a great event to make new friends at.

My first book of the day:

Can you believe the first hour is almost up? *sigh* Happy reading to all the read-a-thoners!

Update the 2nd:

It’s 4.5 hours into the read-a-thon. I’ve finished Anya’s Ghost, ate breakfast (oatmeal with light brown sugar), and took a shower. I’ve also left a ton of comments on readers’ blog, (who knew there are so many bloggers whose names start with M).  Now I plan on starting Habibi by Craig Thompson.

Thank you to everyone who’s commenting here. I appreciate it!

Update the 3rd:

I’ve just finished Habibi by Craig Thompson. I think I like it more than Goodbye, Chunky Rice and Blankets, two of Thompson’s earlier books. It’s an ambitious book that the author has put a lot into. I knew it was a big book but I didn’t bother to check the number of pages. I’ve also read Lenore Look’s Love as Strong as Ginger, which is about the author’s grandmother and the back-breaking work she used to do in a crab factory in San Francisco, CA.  It’s a lovely book.

The stats:

  • 3 books
  • 928 pages total
  • I left a ton of comments (at least 100)

So now I’m off for coffee and a quick nap. I know that sounds funny but trust me, it works.  If you’re participating in the read-a-thon, how are you doing?

Mid-Event Survey

1. What are you reading right now? Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice. It was an impulse download from the library.

2. How many books have you read so far? 3

3. What book are you most looking forward to reading in the second half of the read-a-thon? Maybe the short stories. I have a ton of them on my Edison (Kobo e-reader).

4. Did you make special arrangements to free up your whole day? Nope. I just told everyone that today is the read-a-thon. They know what that means – don’t mess up with Momma!

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with them? I haven’t had many interruptions. I went to the grocery store. That’s it.

6. What surprises you most about the read-a-thon so far? Nothing! It’s a great event. I think one of the things I love so much about this event is that it’s a great opportunity to make friends with bloggers who probably wouldn’t have met otherwise.

7. Any suggestions on how to improve the read-a-thon next year? Maybe we can be more aggressive in getting publishers to donate prizes?

8. What would you do differently, as a reader or cheerleader, if you were to participate again next year? Nothing.

9. Are you tired yet? I was tired earlier but I’m not anymore.

10. Any tips? Relax, don’t put too much pressure on yourself, and short books are always good to have.

38 thoughts on “I’m up! I’m up! 24-Hour Read-a-thon

  1. I didn’t realize you were from Southern California! I am too although most people from my area claim Central California despite what the map says. ;)

  2. You’re up you’re up you’re up! OH Natasha. You are one of my readathon gurus. ;)

    Hope you have a really wonderful day today.

    xoxo Trish

  3. WOW! Habibi!

    I’ve always wanted to break into the graphic novel genre and really love it, but I’ve never been able to. SO…I had a good blogger friend say great things about Habibi and I heard raving things about it on a podcast. I decided I would try graphic novels again with this book. HOWEVER, my library doesn’t have it, has a tiny graphic novel section, and doesn’t have ‘plans’ to buy it. So BOO.

    One day maybe!!! I’ve heard it is incredible.

    Go go go!!

  4. I’ve decided to stop lurking and cheerlead for all my favorite bloggers today. Anya’s Ghost and Habibi both look intriguing. Great picks! I didn’t know there was another Habibi, I read Naomi Shihab Nye’s children’s book of the same title a few years ago and enjoyed it.

  5. I think sleep is why I don’t join. I am not a morning person.. Even if I forced myself out of bed, I wouldn’t really retain information anyway.

  6. Hope you’re doing well in the read-a-thon. 17 books in your pile makes it a good selection. Good luck for the rest of the rest of the read-a-thon.

  7. OH, I wish I were a readathoner reader,
    that is what I truly ‘d like to be -e -eee,
    cuz if I was a readathoner reader,
    everybody ‘d be so impressed with me!!!!

    Cheers,
    -Care
    #CheerTRIX

  8. I want a beach cruiser! The fact that I could actually own a beach cruiser and not have it look completely weird is a thing I love about southern California, haha. :D

  9. That’s high praise for Thompson’s book: he’s such a consistently strong writer. I’ll be looking out for this one. And such a great pick for read-a-thon-ing, especially if you’re short of sleep. Hope your nap fills the gap. Read on!
    (I’m cheering for you from Team Trix)

  10. Glad to see you got to read Habibi like you wanted to, and that it was good! I hear you about all the many bloggers whose name starts with M. I feel like I’m swimming anonymously in a sea of them! LOL.

    Happy reading!

  11. Is Habibi a graphic novel also? Is it about his life? I think I’m adding it to my TBR pile! Is the other one by the Lenore Look that wrote the Alvin Ho books? You always come up with such interesting reads!

    1. I don’t think you are going to be in the minority. It’s a great book but you’re right when you said that the book has problems. The first part was so choppy and some of the art did seem like Thompson was showing off though I really think he put everything into writing this book.

  12. I have to admit I was shocked when I saw the prize listing–doesn’t seem like there was much publicity going on this season? Oh well, the rest seems to be going great? Actually not paying attention to the readathon blog at all so maybe not. ;)

Comments are closed.