Read-a-thon Stack

It’s really sad when your read-a-thon pile is actually three piles of books and can only be read in a month, not a day. Yesterday Raych told me that’s the fun of making a read-a-thon pile and I think she’s right. Here’s my stacks:

Stack 1

Habibi by Craig Thomspon (graphic novel)

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (re-read)

Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus

Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol (re-read/graphic novel)

Stack 2

A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry (re-read)

Bless me Ultima by Rudolpho Anaya

The Most Beautiful Walk in the World by John Baxter

Spilling Ink by Anne Mazer and Ellen Potter

Soul Kiss by Shay Youngblood

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurtson (re-read)

Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston

The Girl who Fell from the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow

The Hottest Dishes of the Tartar Cuisine by Aline Bronsky

If Jack’s in Love by Stephen Wetton

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

The Infernals by John Connolly

Shine by Lauren Myracle

V for Vendetta by Alan Moore

The Watchmen by Alan Moore

Stack 3

Troubling Love by Elena Ferrante

The Lost Daughter by Elena Ferrante

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt (re-read)

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

The Teahouse Fire by Ellis Avery

That’s a crapload of books but the read-a-thon thrives on variety. Am I going to read for the full 24 hours? No, not at all. I’m cheerleading too so I’m hoping to split my time evenly between the two. I’m pretty excited to read almost everything in these stacks though I’ve just realized I only have two scary reads, both by John Connolly, to keep me up in the wee hours of the night. ┬áHave you read anything in my stacks? Is there something you think I should read first?

19 thoughts on “Read-a-thon Stack

  1. Looks like a great stack! Mine is pretty big too because I keep adding to it. I don’t think I have many scary reads either.

    I have V for Vendetta in my TBR but I still haven’t read it. I might have to find it when I get home.

  2. Looks like fun — definitely enough variety there to suit any mood! I have done no preparation, but I did manage to post a couple of “love of reading” posts this week in honor of the read-a-thon.

  3. You make me feel okay about my stack. Hee. I’m not saying where you should start, because I think timing is everything with read-a-thon-ing. But in a general way, I loved Shay Youngblood’s novel: so poetic. And the Hurston and Kingston too. About a quarter of these are on my TBR list. And I’ve been eyeing a re-read of The Joy Luck Club since I re-read The Color Purple. (Re-read the Babbitt a couple of years ago and loved it too. More than the first time.) Happy reading to you! (Oh, this is unofficial, but on Saturday I’ll be cheering you along officially!)

  4. So many great books! I love Alan Moore’s stuff, but I’ll caution you that neither WATCHMEN nor V FOR VENDETTA is a quick read. They’re both dense, fully saturated texts with lots of detailed panels per page. They could be good books to start with, though, when your concentration is still is in large supply!

  5. That is a lot of books for one day! I loved The Joy Luck Club but haven’t read any others in your stacks. Good luck! I’ll be lucky if i get a couple of books read. I always get sleepy when i do readathons :)

  6. That’s a great stack of books! I’ve read Anya’s Ghost, Shine, and The Joy Luck Club. I like the variety you have on your list, and I think you are set up for success. Have fun!

  7. My readathon is quite large as well. I can only hope to finish mine in like a year. hehehe. But I prefer going from a large stack as it provides more options. I am a moody reader so I need to have a lot of options!

  8. Wow, that’s a lot! But there are some great choices in there, and it’s always a good idea to have go-to books if one doesn’t grab you like it needs to grab you for long term reading. Good luck!

  9. SIS BOOM BAH! You, myDEARfriend, are on my assigned to-be-cheered-at list but I know you have so many wonderful supporters and encouragers, I may not be by too often so that I can seek and find those that may need extra superdooper rah-rahing. ‘K? Just saying that I will think of you often and I know you’ll have a great time. :D

Leave a Reply

