Sunday Salon: Reading and reviewing

Good morning! Right now it’s the early hours of Sunday. The sun isn’t up yet but the kids are so I’m up too. I don’t mind so much since I’m already on my second cup.

Can you believe that Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon is just a week away? I don’t know if I’m going to join this year but if you’re free next weekend and want to catch up on your reading, this is a great way to do it. You don’t have to read the whole 24 hours just as much or as little as you want. It’s never too late to sign up. Maybe you already have plans for next weekend; there are other ways of helping.  You can donate as little as $10 to the prize fund so that international participants can have their prizes sent to them in a timely manner, sign up as a cheerleader and cheer readers on, or sign up for marketing, hosting a mini-challenge, and more. There’s something for everyone.

Right now Alita from Alita Reads is hosting a review-a-thon. It started on Friday and ends tomorrow. It’s a great way to catch up on review writing. Plus it’s not too late to join. Maybe we can convince Alita to host a review-a-thon next week after the read-a-thon when everyone’s sick of reading? I’ve already completed about four mini-reviews plus I have 4 longer reviews to complete. I’m hoping to have everything finished and ready to post by Tuesday.

Now I’m off to write. Do you have any plans for today? Are you joining next week’s read-a-thon?

Edit: Here’s the link for anyone who wants to donate to read-a-thon: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dDJQZVNhZWlZd25uTlVXWHJlTVVCc0E6MQ&ifq

19 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Reading and reviewing

  1. I was going to join the review-a-thon, but yesterday I was out all day and today I’m feeling ill and mushy-brained :( Will also have to skip the read-a-thon as I have plans for the weekend, but maybe I can do a bit of impromptu cheerleading. I know everyone will have a wonderful time as always. I hope you’re having a good weekend!

  2. Good job plugging the Read-A-Thon! I will be cheering. Today, we are taking the inlaws to see the boat. It’s very windy, tho, so we may not take a ride. I have 3-4 reviews to get written.

  3. I need a review-a-thon more than I need a read-a-thon! It’s so hard to keep up.

    Wish I could participate in Dewey’s Readathon, but it’s the same weekend this year as the Texas Book Festival. I’d sooner cut the baby in half than decide between the two events, but choices must be made.

  4. Usually I drop by different blogs and offer some cheerleading, but I don’t generally participate otherwise. I feel like I can’t predict what my life will be like enough to sign up!

  5. I could stand to have a review-a-thon. Lately I have just been rushing a post together whenever I have a day free on my blog. I am still hopelessly behind…

  6. A review-athon sounds like fun! And much needed. I have to squeeze out my reviews during my down time at work these days since i don’t get much, if any, computer time at home.It isn’t ideal, but it works! I hope you have a great week!

  7. So many great and ambitious plans for both reading and writing! I am hoping to join the readathon next weekend, if time permits, and this reviewathon doesn’t sound too shabby either! Thanks for letting us in on these events!

  8. I haven’t decided if I am going to join in on the readathon or not. I am sure once I start seeing posts and tweets I will decide that I will!

  9. I enjoyed the reviewathon. That sounds strange to say but I really did!

    I’ve never been able to participate in the readathon due to work. I’m always traveling that weekend but maybe I can participate in spirit this year. :-)

  10. I’m thinking about joining the readathon too…now that I’ve seen a couple of Sunday Saloners mention it. I’d really like to catch up on some reading and this might be a good way to do it.

    On a non-related matter to this post, I just saw the new header on your blog. Very colorful and expressive. I like it.

  11. I have my stack of reading all ready. (It’s completely unreasonable: I might read one book.) Last year it coincided with Canadian Thanksgiving, which worked surprisingly well. This year it’s on an exceptionally busy weekend, so I’ve signed up to cheer for a chunk in the evening, and my reading will have to squeeze into 15-20 minutes chunks the rest of the day.

Comments are closed.