R.I.P. Challenge VI

As I sit here typing, the sun is setting and the wind’s blowing. Outside my window the leaves on various trees have started to change from that brilliant green of summer to the crisp orange of fall. I can’t believe that I almost missed one of my favorite reading challenges: Carl’s Readers Imbibing Peril challenge. It’s hard to believe that this is my fifth year but it is.

This year I’m participating in a few perils:

  • Peril the First- four books of any length
  • Peril of the Short Story
  • Peril on the Screen – scary movies!

I also plan on participating in a peril you may not have heard of before: Peril of the Children. I love this challenge so much that I’m making letting my children participate too. I plan on reading one spooky picture book or story to them each night throughout October. The kids have already started putting some of their favorite Halloween tales on hold at our local library. I’m hoping to write a post a week on the stories we read together.

My pool of books:

  • Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol  (re-read)
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (re-read)
  • Fish by Gregory Mone
  • The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
  • The Night Circus by Erin Mortensen
  • The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier
  • Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Beowulf
  • Under the Dome by Stephen King
  • Bradbury Stories by Ray Bradbury (re-read)
  • The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • Full Dark House by Christopher Fowler
  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King
  • Memento Mori by Muriel Spark
  • A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot
  • Under the Green Hill by Laura L. Sullivan
  • Hellboy series by Mike Mignola
  • Amulet series by Kazu Kibuishi

Have you read anything in this reading pool? Is there one book you think I should put at the top of my TBR list?

9 thoughts on “R.I.P. Challenge VI

  1. Thanks so much for including my Under the Green Hill on your Children in Peril Challenge list!
    The Graveyard Book is one of my favorites — but since it is a re-read you already know how amazing it is. I’m really looking forward to The Night Circus, too. I’ve heard so many good things about it. Now that you’ve reminded me, I think I’ll read that next.
    -Laura

  2. Who Fears Death and The Haunting of Hill House are both fantastic. I have got to read Anya’s Ghost and reread The Graveyard Book. Oh, wait, I have it on my MP3 player, with Neil Gaiman reading it!

  3. I can see so many books on that list that I want to read myself, so I’m looking forward to possibly reading your thoughts on them. Neil Gaman’s books, Anya’s Ghost, the Night Circus to name a few!
    I’ve never participated in the challenge but with October coming, I think I might after all :)

  4. I loved The Night Circus, and hope that you do too! It seems like you’ve got a great list of books there for the challenge, and I will be anxious to hear what you think of them all. I am unofficially engaged in the challenge as well, and hope that I can get quite a few spooky books read!

  5. I loved The Haunting of Hill House, The Shadow of the Wind, and Neverwhere, so I would definitely suggest to get ahold of those!

Comments are closed.