fiction, reviews, Southern settings

Review: The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake

Jenny Wingfield

352 pages

Publication Date: July 12, 2011

Publisher: Random House

Source: Publisher

John Moses couldn’t have chosen a worse day, or a worse way to die, if he’d planned it for a lifetime. Which was possible. He was contrary as a mule. It was the weekend of the Moses family reunion, and everything was perfect−or at least perfectly normal−until John went and ruined it.

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake starts out with the patriarch of the Moses family but luckily for all of the book’s readers, it doesn’t end there. Every year on the first Sunday in June, the Moses family hosts their family reunion. Family from all over come back home to Columbia County, Arkansas including Willadee Lake, John’s only daughter and favorite child. Willadee married a traveling preacher, Samuel Lake, and now can only visit Arkansas once a year. But when tragedy strikes and Samuel loses his parish back in Louisiana, the Lakes are forced to stay in Arkansas longer than they counted on. But what happens next is an amazing story of love, faith, and joy that affects not only the Lakes and Moses but the community around them.

Okay so I didn’t really tell you much about The Homecoming of Samuel Lake, did I? Like that Willadee and Samuel have three amazing kids Swan, Bienville, and Noble.  I also didn’t tell you how Willadee’s sister-in-law Bernice is one low woman who’s trying to win back her high school sweetheart which happens to be Samuel? I also didn’t mention that the Moses’ next door neighborhood, Ras, is a villain that I have no problem hating, a man beyond redemption or pity.

So now you know. The Homecoming of Samuel Lake is only the second book (besides 32 Candles) that I stayed up all night and mid-morning to read until I knew what happened to each character. I loved the Moses family, who aren’t perfect but understand what it means to be a family and how loyalty truly works. Samuel Lake is a man who thinks he has somehow lost favor with God and don’t understand why he doesn’t have a parish to preach to. The book deals with faith in a straightforward way that doesn’t preach, which I appreciate.

My only problem with the book is that Bernice didn’t get her just desserts and that I wanted to know more about Willadee’s brother, Toy. Toy is a man who suffers throughout his life and though readers are told a lot about Toy’s past, I wanted to know even more.

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake is a great thick summer read that left me teary in some parts, laughing in others, and ready to hug it at the end. If you love books with Southern settings, you can’t go wrong reading this which is why I’m giving away one copy to a lucky reader. Let me know in the comments if you want to be entered in the contest. I’ll pick a winner in a few days. Good luck.

Goodreads rating: 5 out of 5 stars

16 thoughts on “Review: The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield”

  1. Oh this sounds adorable. It has to be good to keep you up all night too. The Moses family sound adorable.

    Love the new blog look too.

  2. I love the look of your blog!!!

    I do like a southern setting and this looks like a great weekend read.

  3. I love the new look too! This book sounds right up my alley! The fact that you stayed up late reading it speaks volumes. No need to enter me.

  4. This does sound like a great read, and like one that would also keep me up late at night reading. I like that this book deals so intricately with one family and all their quirks and adventures. It seems like something that I would really like. Please do enter me in your giveaway for a copy of the book!

    zibilee(at)figearo(dot)net

  5. I love it when a book is so good I want to hug it! Glad this was that kind of book for you.

    Thanks for being a part of the tour. I’m featuring your review on TLC’s Facebook page today.

  6. This was a great book! It felt like “To Kill a Mockingbird”. And I did laugh, cry and hug this book!

  7. My knowledge of the South is minimal. I just finished a light hearted read of the South (review up). I would like to be counted in for this one!

Comments are closed.