It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey.

I’m in the middle of more than six books. I usually don’t mind but it’s driving me crazy since there’s so many new books that I want to read! I’m determined to finish every book I’ve already started this week so I can move on. I’m going to be offline for most of the week but here’s a few books that I plan on finishing:

War and Watermelon by Rich Wallace (for an upcoming TLC tour)

American Gods by Neil Gaiman. (re-read)  I’m listening to it on audio and reading a print copy of it.

Sugar in My Bowl by Erica Jong. This is a pretty interesting book but I keep leaving it on my nightstand so I’m only reading it at night.

The Reading Promise: My Father and the books we shared  by Alice Ozma.

Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self by Danielle Evans. I can’t tell you how many times that I’ve checked this book out this year. It’s getting pretty ridiculous. If I read a short story a day for the next week, this book will be finished by next week.

Red and Me by Bill Russell. I’ve been listening to this short audio book for the past week and haven’t finished it. The story is great but I haven’t made the time to really listen to it.

So that’s my reading stack for the week. What are you reading? 

32 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. I am going to follow my rule and not say what I’m reading. But I did finish The Sisters Brothers by Patrick Dewitt the other day. It was a lot of fun and easy to get into though the author lost me a bit at the end.

  2. American Gods was the first Neil Gaiman I read – really enjoyed it. I hope to get to Anansi by the end of the year. Also, read Suffocate – wonderful short stories. I’m currently reading Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood. Will start Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor and Roots by Alex Haley.

    1. I love Neil Gaiman! I’m glad that there’s so much to read from him. After reading Carl’s comment, I definitely need to read Anansi too. I hope your week is off to a great start!

  3. Wow, six all at the same time? That’s pretty impressive. I just finished a non-fiction read called Is There No Place On Earth for Me, and now I am reading the Iron Queen. After that non-fiction book, I needed something a little less depressing.

  4. American Gods has been on my wishlist for so long, but both the great and not-so-great reviews I keep seeing make me hesitate each time to read it. I’m curious about War and Watermelon though!

  5. American Gods is so great on audio. The reader does such a fantastic job.

    For anyone who has read it and plans on reading Anansi Boys, make sure in between you read Monarch of the Glen, the novella in the Fragile Things collection. It takes place approx 6 months or so after American Gods. It is very good.

    Have you heard that Tom Hanks is slated to bring American Gods to television, in 6 seasons with 10-12 episodes per season, on HBO? Gaiman tweeted last night that he is needing to get on writing another book in the American Gods universe. Very exciting!

    1. American Boys on audio is so good! I’m listening to it on playaway which is the only audio version my library has of the book.

      I’m going to add Fragile Things to my summer reading list. I think it’s time to re-read it.

      I can’t believe that Gaiman is thinking about writing another book in the A.G. universe!!! Thanks for letting us know, Carl! :-)

      1. Anansi Boys is very different in tone from American Gods. It reminded me a lot of P.G. Wodehouse, for one thing. I actually loved seeing Neil work in that same universe and yet write such a very different story. This one has much more comedy in it amidst all the serious stuff.

  6. Carl, I can’t wait to read Anansi Boys and see the difference between the two stories. I think I’ll pick it up from the library tomorrow along with Fragile Things. Thanks for the recommendations! :-)

  7. I really love Bill Russell-there have been some good interviews with him on tv recently. He has a great life story. I like to read one book at a time myself, but I find that just isn’t possible. I usually have at least three going at any given time.

  8. Good luck with finishing the books. I only know (an read) American Gods, which was so-so for me. You’ll have a great sense of achievement when you have finished the books. Happy reading (and listening) this week!

  9. I’m still slogging through The Wind-Up Bird (but you already know that) actually, it is GOOD. I just have no idea what the heck is going on! (and it’s all good.)
    Enjoy your crazy multi-reading.

  10. I am so freaky about juggling a bunch at one time that I would have to stop sleeping until I eliminated some. And I would finish the Gaiman first! :)

  11. Lol, I can’t do more than two books at a time. I would never get through them. And when I do read more then one at a time, one of them is fluff, or an easy read. Right now I am reading Game of Thrones and The Glass Bead Game.

  12. I’m looking forward to what HBO does with American Gods. I don’t fully understand the adoration given to Gaiman, who is probably the book world’s equivalent to a rock star. He’s a competent author whose ideas often end up lacking due to execution. Saying that his episode for Doctor Who was the best this series and The Sandman is an absolute classic of comic writing.

  13. I never thought to read and listen to a book. Do you find yourself feeling differently about the outcome?

    1. When I read a book and listen to it on audio, I find myself paying more attention to the plot, characters, and language. :-)

  14. Hope you’ve been able to make some headway! I finished ROOM on Monday and haven’t decided what to read next. How does one follow that up?! :)

  15. Wow six books at once! For some reason I’m perfectly happy to follow a dozen tv shows at one time but can only cope with one book! I’ve just finished up with The Weight of Silence (good read) and am going to give The Setup once last chance (I’m halfway through and it’s just not grabbing my attention!)

Comments are closed.