A Very Short Post

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente is a book that’s been receiving a lot of positive buzz lately. It’s in my tbr pile and on my daughter’s summer reading list. I’ve read a little of the book so far, and the imagery is just so beautiful and different like the golem made of lye or the three witches who can see the future.

I don’t watch many book trailers but when I saw this one, I thought it was excellent. I know there’s going to be more songs to go with this book and I can’t wait to listen to the rest of them. Have you read this book yet? If you haven’t, any plans to read it?

20 thoughts on “A Very Short Post

    1. It’s very quirky! The book reminds me a lot of Alice in Wonderland, so if you enjoyed that story you’ll probably enjoy this one.

  1. My daughter and I might listen to this one on an upcoming road trip. I love the trailer, but I think my daughter might not care for it, that she might declare it “weird”, and not mean that in a good way.

    1. Awww. Laura, let me know how’s the book on audio if you ever get to it. I think it would be amazing if the author could get someone like Neil Gaiman or Cate Blanchett to read it. I kept imagining those two while I was reading the book. :-)

  2. I want to like what I hear is an interesting and unusual book, but I’m already a little creeped out by the illustrations. I do have a low creep-out threshold which can be triggered by animals that move their moves to “talk” on film and any Tim Burton film.

  3. I feel like I have been under a rock, as this is the first time I have heard of this! Looks great though, and like something that I should probably check out! Thanks!

  4. Hey! Just in case you didn’t see already, I’m shutting down The Zen Leaf. I’m contacting all the people who signed up for the 52-52-52 Challenge to let them know. I’m still continuing on with the challenge, but it will be at my tumblr account (http://agignac.tumblr.com) rather than at The Zen Leaf.

  5. I usually don’t watch book trailer either, but that one is loooovely! I adore the style, and that was quite an endorsement from Gaiman!

  6. I am very excited to read this book. I won it from Armchair BEA and was very thrilled to do so. Not only that, i think my 11-year old daughter will like to read it with me.

  7. I have read one other Catherynne Valente and loved it, so already knew that I wanted to read it! If it was new to me that trailer would totally have had me wanting to read it!

  8. That was gorgeous. I heard Valente read an excerpt from the book when I was in New York, and it made me want it very, very badly. I hope I’ll be able to get my hands on it soon.

Comments are closed.