Graphic Novels Mini-reviews

So I’m behind once again when it comes to reviewing. (When am I not behind, really?)

BB Wolf and the Three LPs

Written by JD Arnold

Illustrated by Richard Koslowski

Publication Year: 2010

Publisher: Top Shelf Productions

Source: Bought it

JD Arnold took the fairy tale of “The Three Little Pigs” and turned it on its head. BB Wolf is a regular old wolf: father, husband, farmer, and talented blues player. Life is hard for a wolf in the 1920s south but he tries to make it work for himself and his family. Problem is the three Littlepig brothers want to own large tracts of land in Mississippi and they don’t care who already owns it, especially if they’re a wolf. When the Littlepigs turn their eyes on BB’s farm, trouble ensues and BB’s family is a casualty. What happens next is a tale of revenge as BB tracks down the brothers . . .

I can name less than a handful of graphic novels that are set in the Jim Crow south which includes Jeremy Love’s Bayou series. So when I found out about BB Wolf and the Three LPs, I knew I had to read it. I like how Arnold brought this story to life in a Maus-like way with the wolfs standing in for blacks while the pigs were whites. The only thing that I had a problem with was the illustrations. The style of the illustrations took some time to get used to. I think too much time because if I was in a bookstore and I was glancing through this book, I probably would have put it back. But because I bought this book without knowing what the illustrations looked like, I kept reading it even after the first page.  I’m glad that I did.

Zeus: King of the Gods

George O’Connor

80 pages

Publication Year: 2010

Publisher: First Second

Source: Bought it

I love love this series! I originally bought this for my daughter but decided to read it first. Now I don’t want to give it to her (we can share).  Zeus is the first book in O’Connor’s fantastic Olympians series. According to the author there’s going to be twelve books in all and I can’t wait! Short review: The book chronicles the birth of Zeus and how he comes to overthrow his father.

I enjoyed reading this graphic novel that’s perfect for readers of all ages. It doesn’t matter if you haven’t read any retellings of Greek myths or a seasoned reader of them, this book (and the series) is a great addition to anyone’s permanent bookcase.

Chew: The Omnivore Edition Vol. 1

Written by John Layman

Illustrated by Rob Guillory

264 pages

Publication Date: July 2010

Publisher: Image Comics

Source: Library

Publisher’s Description:

Tony Chu is a detective with a secret. A weird secret. Tony Chu is Cibopathic, which means he gets psychic impressions from whatever he eats. It also means he’s a hell of a detective, as long as he doesn’t mind nibbling on the corpse of a murder victim to figure out whodunit, and why. He’s been brought on by the Special Crimes Division of the FDA, the most powerful law enforcement agency on the planet, to investigate their strangest, sickest, and most bizarre cases. . .

So you read the publisher’s description but Chew is so much more than that. The main character lives in a world where chicken is a banned substance after more than twenty million people have died of the avian flu. Now the FDA is basically the CIA, FBI, and Homeland Security rolled into one – it’s so powerful. When Tony Chu catches a serial killer after tasting soup, he’s recruited by the FDA to use his powers to hunt down some of the most horrific killers.

I know that this probably sounds a little old by now but I love Chew. I first found out about this book when Aarti reviewed it almost a year ago. Earlier this year when I decided to follow Memory’s lead and read at least one graphic novel a week, I added Chew to my list. Thanks, Aarti! I do have to warn you that there are a few scenes in the book that might make you queasy but other than that, Chew is a funny disgusting read that’s sure to be different from anything you’ve ever read before.

11 thoughts on “Graphic Novels Mini-reviews

  1. I have heard some wonderful things about Chew, and really want to read it. Actually, all of these sound interesting for different reasons. I need to add them to my wish list. Thanks for the great reviews on these!

  2. CHEW is now on my list! It sounds very, very interesting. I’m in the middle of a Peter Straub novel where the main character has a dream he’s ordered and is eating a human hand in a restaurant … just kind of funny that I’m now reading your review of CHEW!

  3. I love the sound of all of these. Oh I hope my library has them, cause if not, I’m at least buying Zeus. I need to get cracking on my Fables books too.

  4. I’m sooo out of the graphic novel loop these days, it’s ridiculous!!! Wanting to lay my hot little hands on these, though. BB Wolf and the Three LPs looks like it’d be right up my alley!

  5. All of these look good. I think I’d want to pick up the Zeus one first, though since it seems like something my younger son would enjoy also!

Comments are closed.