Guyku by Bob Raczka

Guyku: A Year of Haiku for Boys

Bob Raczka

Illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds

48 pages

October 2010

Houghton Mifflin Books for Children

 

I picked up Guyku: A Year of Haiku for Boys because of all the positive reviews it was receiving on Twitter – a place that I receive many book recommendations from. After my first reading  of Guyku, I knew all the talk was right. The book is a great poetry introduction for young children – girls included. Raczka gives readers haiku for every season of the year that are great for reading aloud. With illustrations by the wonderful Peter H. Reynolds the book is a perfect addition to any poetry collection.

The haiku featured in the book are silly, funny, or lightly mourning a passing season. They’re also simple enough where even young children can understand them.

The illustrations are soft and compliment each haiku and season. I love that the boys in the book are of every shape and color. I really love how after every reading of this book, my kids and I wanted more.  Guyku is a great book for poetry experts and novices alike.

6 thoughts on “Guyku by Bob Raczka

  1. Out of all the forms of poetry, I think I like haiku the best. This sounds like a really fun book, not only for kids, but for adults like myself who don’t get the chance to read much poetry. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  2. This looks great! I’ve just added it to the Goodreads account I keep for my son and I. I think it will be a great introduction to haiku for him!

Comments are closed.