It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday. What are you reading? is a meme hosted by the lovely Sheila over at Book Journey. It’s also a meme that I need to start doing consistently since my reading is almost nonexistent right now. I’m in the middle of a ton of books but rarely finishing any of them in the past few weeks. With the TBR Dare coming to a close Thursday night, I’m still six books away from my goal of 25 books read off my shelves. There’s still time.

Last week I read:


Embroideries by Marjane Strapi

The Odyssey by Gareth Hinds

The Secret River by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

Rain School by James Rutford

Child of the Civil Rights Movement by Paula Young Shelton and Raul Colón

Book Lust To Go by Nancy Pearl

Chew Vol. 1: Taster’s Choice by John Layman

So that’s one book of non-fiction, three graphic novels, and three children’s books. That is such a sad amount of books. All three of the graphic novels were my favorite reads of the week. The graphic novel adaptation of The Odyssey is so good that I now want to read the original. Chew is so different from any graphic novel that I’ve read, while Embroideries has a great subject matter: the lives of ordinary women.

This week I’m hoping to read/finish:

Drive by Daniel Pink (re-read)

The Oracle of Stamboul by Michael David Lukas

Some Friend by Marie Bradby

The Fox Woman by Kij Johnson

Keeper by Kathi Appelt

Here at the End of the World We Learn to Dance by Lloyd Jones

The Grimm Reader: The Classic Tales of the Brothers Grimm by Maria Tatar

Amelia Lost: The Life and Disappearance of Amelia Earhart by Candance Fleming

Listening to:

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I don’t plan on finishing The Grimm Reader or A Game of Thrones this week because of their length. I expect Amelia Lost, Keeper, and Some Friend to be short reads so I think I can manage all of this.

What are you reading this week?

20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I second Kim’s comment. I want to read that graphic Odyssey! Like Nymeth I can’t wait to see what you think of The Fox Woman. I’m finishing Cutting for Stone and hope to start Mythago Wood for OUAT.

  2. Ooooh, A Game of Thrones! Love. It. Hope you’re enjoying! Wasn’t Embroideries great? I’ll have to keep an eye out for The Odyssey! I have waded through the original, but I’d like to check out the GN! Enjoy your week!

  3. I have heard some pretty interesting things about Chew, and I think it was Aarti’s review that stuck with me the most. You know, I have 2 copies of The Odyssey that I have been meaning to read, but now I am thinking that the graphic novel may be the way to go at first. I hope that you enjoy all your reads this week, and I look forward to hearing about them all!

  4. I can’t seem to finish a book either. Don’t you just hate it? Makes me nuts. Good luck finishing up what you have started.

  5. I just got that edition of the Odyssey in my media center and it made me realize that I simply must take all my graphic novels out of the 741.5 (in the art section!!) and get them into my fiction section so that more students can find them.

  6. Wow! You had such a great week!! I can’t wait to hear what you think of The Fox Woman. I really enjoyed it. I need to start A Game of Thrones myself…didn’t think of listening to it. Hm….. the possibilities…. do you like the audio?

  7. Oh, Game of Thrones. I keep meaning to read Game of Thrones so that I will have read it by the time the miniseries comes out. But it’s drawing ever closer to go time, and I have yet to make any efforts in that direction…I’m beginning to question the sincerity of my desire to read it.

Comments are closed.