Once Upon a Time V

It’s that time of the year again! Time for Carl’s excellent Once Upon a Time challenge. It started March 20th and ends June 20, 2011.  Nothing says spring like the start of this challenge. I wasn’t going to write a post about this challenge but after Kelly’s excellent post of potential reads, I thought I should write my own post about the pool of books I’m choosing from.

My quests:

Read at least five books that fit somewhere within the criteria.

 

Read two non-fiction books that treat any of the four genres covered in this challenge.

Who can resist a good movie?

Last but not least of my quests:

I have read some great short stories so far this year, so this is the perfect quest for me.

Last year I’m trying to read as many of books from my tbr pile as possible, so the books that I’m going to read from this challenge will mostly come from my shelves.  Here’s my list of possible reads:

  • The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper
  • Touching Spirit Bear by Ben Mikaelsen
  • Under the Green Hill by Laura L. Sullivan
  • The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
  • The Wild Things by Dave Eggers
  • Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter
  • The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter
  • The Fox Woman by Kij Johnson
  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • Bone: Rose by Jeff Smith
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman (re-read)
  • Chew Vol. 1: Taster’s Choice by John Layman
  • Bloodroot by Amy Greene
  • The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht
  • A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot
  • The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier
  • The Beastly Bride edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Trickster: Native American Tales
  • BB Wolf and the Three LPs by JD Arnold
  • Bayou Vols 1 and 2 by Jeremy Love
  • The Grimm Reader: The Classic Tales of the Brothers Grimm translated by Maria Tatar
  • “The Cat Who Walked a Thousand Miles” by Kij Johnson

I also found out about a few more books that I’ll probably add to the pool later on in the challenge. Have you joined the Once Upon a Time Challenge this year? Is there a book, short story, or movie that you’re looking forward to reading or viewing?

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time V

  1. The Bloody Chamber, The Wild Things, Bayou and of COURSE American Gods are all amazing!!! Can’t wait to hear all about your progress :) I’m reading strictly from my shelves too this year…I REALLY need to get my TBR stack down :/

  2. Always love the buttons for this one! And am excited to see your Angela Carter picks. Read my first Carter recently and was thrilled to have discovered such a distinctive voice. Can’t wait to read more.

  3. I’m allll over this challenge! I need to look through my stacks and see what’s already there that will apply. Will probably post about it Sunday or Monday. Yayyyy, Carl!

  4. This was one of the first challenges I ever joined, and I can’t imagine coming back to blogging at a better time!! Your list is awesome!! I can’t wait to see the reviews pouring in….helps me create a reading list for the whole year!

  5. Carl does all the best challenges, I have to say. I’m going to reread The Ground Beneath Her Feet, which I think maybe counts but anyway I’m acting like it does. For the rest I’m not sure yet. I think I will be able to find a book or two that I will enjoy.

  6. Always wonderful to have you as a part of these events. Thanks so much for joining in. Great list of potential reads. I really like The Bloody Chamber. I think I’ve re-read parts of it every year since I first read it. Good stuff there. I need to read more of her work in some of her other collections.

  7. This’s my favourite challenge because I KNOW I’ll do well! This year, I plan to read lots of Diana Wynne Jones as a sort of a tribute (and because her books are awesome and I need more of them in my system).

Comments are closed.