Sunday Salon

Reading

The first thing my 11-year old sister did once she woke up this morning was to pick up the books that she’s currently reading, and sit in front of the heater. She ended up reading for more than an hour. Watching her made me wonder when was the last time I did that? I used to have a morning ritual of drinking coffee while reading but I stopped. I need to go back to that. Nowadays I squeeze reading into my day. I read while waiting for the bus or at night when I can’t sleep but I haven’t carved out time to read. How do you incorporate reading into your day? Do you carve out time to read or read whenever you can?

March reading stack

Once again I didn’t read much from my February reading stack. I read two books from the stack: Lonely by Emily White and Someone Else’s Garden by Dipkita Rai. Both were great reads. Instead of posting a photo of my March reading stack so I think I’ll just share with you a few books I’m looking forward to read next month.

Madre by Liza Blakewell has been in my tbr pile for over a month now. I first heard about this book from Jen at Devourer of Books.

Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff. This was on the syllabus for the children’s literature class I signed up for this semester. Unfortunately I had to drop the class when one of the kids became sick.

A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. I’ve read so many great things about this foodie memoir but unfortunately my library only had the audio book of this. Who buys an audio book of a memoir that has recipes? I was finally able to get this at a discount, so I bought it.

I Love Yous are For White People by Lac Su. There was much media coverage for Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua which led to so many discussions about tiger moms and parenting. Lac Su grew up with very strict parents who fit the “tiger” description. Instead of helping, the discipline hurt him and he ended up joining a gang and fighting again low self-esteem that he still has to deal with as an adult. I can’t wait to read this.

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow. I’ve heard great things about this book. Durrow is having a book signing at my little-bitty school so I’m so excited!

So now I’m off to continue reading the page-turning Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. What are you reading this Sunday? Any books you’re looking forward to reading in March?

25 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. I’ve been failing at getting reading time in as of late. I’ve spent a lot of time watching Buffy. Most of my reading has come from listening to audiobooks at work.

  2. I’m doing some very solid rereading this weekend, and it is hitting the spot. I have trouble carving out reading time during the week, because most of my commute is walking, not train-sitting, but I do my best. I squeeze it in at the lunch breaks.

  3. I manage to do most of my reading in the evening, curled up on the couch with a cup of tea. I read “Pictures of Hollis Woods” several years ago and really enjoyed it. Have a wonderful week!

  4. I try to read at least 25 pages of a book for fun instead of for school before I go to bed each night before I go to bed. But I’ve fallen a bit off the wagon this week since getting sick. And now I’m trying to get caught up on my readings for school so I haven’t been doing such a great job of carving out reading time lately.

    Madre sounds interesting. I love finding out about how words came about.

  5. I’m especially interested in your thoughts on The Girl Who Fell From the Sky once you get around to it. It looks fantastic, and I want to read it as well. I think my ‘brary has it, but I haven’t thought to put it on hold just yet.

    I definitely have to carve out time to read. I mostly get to read in the mornings before the family is awake and for about an hour at night before I zonk out completely. With Greyson at his grandma’s for a few days, I’ve been taking advantage of any and all reading time. I’ve also started making a point to pull myself away from work and read (at least) on my lunch hour. If I have a few slow minutes before a meeting I’ll also snag some reading time. :)

  6. I listen to an audio book during my commute to and from work. I try to read during my lunch hour, but lately I’ve had to work during it. I do read at night. My goal is to read a certain number of pages each night. I’ve cut back on my TV watching and that has helped a lot. I read on Saturday after chores and errands. Sunday afternoons are when I do most of my reading. I can read for several hours without interruptions.

  7. Today I read for an hour before I got out of bed, but I don’t really do that too often. I do try to read at least an hour each day, sometimes more, sometimes less. Definitely before sleeping though. I’ve come to look forward to that particular hour just to curl up with a book.

    You have some great books lined up for March! I need to look at my stack too.

  8. I have a new rule, never comment about the book I am currently reading. Whenever I’ve done this in the past with a book I’ve been enjoying, the story goes down hill once I say something about it.

    I’ve been trying to catch up on my reading, and I am not as I was. Looking forward to finally reading Dark Goddess.

  9. I usually get my blogging done in the morning, and read during the afternoon and early evening, but that doesn’t always work out for me because I often have to stop to fit in my chores. This weekend was an exception though, as I did almost nothing but read!

  10. I remember hardly anything about Pictures of Hollis Woods except that it was wonderful. So wonderful, in fact, that this feeling has persisted for almost 10 years. You know how some books just leave a lingering scent somehow? This one did that for me. Enjoy.

  11. I have a Homemade Life and have read bits and pieces of it. I can’t wait to see what you think. The Girl Who Fell from the Sky is another good one.

  12. Ooh,these all look good. I requested The Girl Who Fell From The Sky from my library last week. Hopefully the person who has it out at the moment reads fast :-)

  13. I am very envious of your daughter’s new ritual. I would love to get up and just read. Instead of starting to do household chores! I tend to read in the evenings, once the kids have gone to bed and everything else is done.

  14. I own A Homemade Life. I have yet to be able to get into it… but want to so much! You will probably like it more (being more of a foodie than I am), but I am definitely giving it another go. Am chaling it up to bad timing for me.

  15. I used to carve out reading time whenever I could: on my bus ride to work or school, before each class began, on my breaks, at lunch time… whenever I could swing it. It worked very well. These days, I read a little right after I get up, then again in the evenings. I also carry my book with me. If I happen to find myself on an appealing bench or in a library, I whip it out and squeeze in a little reading time.

  16. I read whenever and wherever I get the chance. I long for those days when I can just sit and read uninterrupted for a few hours at a time.

Comments are closed.