Finally. . .The TBR Dare

When I first heard of CB’s TBR Dare back in December, I knew it was the kind of dare that I needed. As much as I love my overflowing bookcases, I would love it even more if I knew the content of the books stacked on those cases.  I pledged to read at least 25 books from my TBR pile before the dare ends on April 1st. Since my pledge, I’ve only read five books off my shelves. *sigh*

I know some people reading this would wonder what’s the big deal about having bookcases overflowing with unread books. When Nymeth wrote her great review of Margo Lanagan’s Tender Morsels almost two years ago, I immediately bought the book. I still haven’t read it. So many bloggers read and recommend a lot of books that sound absolutely fantastic and I often buy those books based on their recommendations. The problem is that those books usually linger for months or years on my shelves before I decide to either read them and give them away. I often just give them away. What a waste.

So I publicly pledging to read the remaining twenty books between now and April 1st. I’ve read some amazing things about the books in my tbr pile like Big Machine by Victor LaSalle, Among Others by Jo Walton, and Everything Matters! by Ron Currie Jr. I’ve already started a few books in my TBR pile and I can’t wait to share my thoughts of them with you.

Have you read a book out of your TBR pile lately?

21 thoughts on “Finally. . .The TBR Dare

  1. I have this problem, too–buy books and read them years later. The othr day I HAD to have a new book and I briefly wondered what’s the point. But…now I have a shiny new copy of The Sherlockian on my…floor? Not even sure where I put it.

    Good luck! I’d join you, but I’m not really reading much these days. :P

  2. Oh goodness knows I have WAY too many unread books on my shelf and still con’t to buy new ones. It is an addiction, I am sure of it, and so many of us need help, haha. (I suppose it’s one of the better one’s though, eh?) Good luck in your endeavor!

  3. I’m cheering you on! :D I was doing pretty good with reading my own TBR books, but now I’m reading one I just bought (although it’s an ebook so it doesn’t really “count,” I think).

    Also I noticed you have Madre on your nightstand! I have that book! I just bought it, actually, because it was on sale and because the author is doing a reading here next week and I think I’m going to see her. Yay! :D

  4. More than half of my books so far this year have been off my TBR pile. Actually, if you exclude audiobooks and graphic novels (which I have to get from the library, as I can’t afford to buy them all for myself), all but one of my books this year have been TBR occupants. Going forward, I’d like to get to some of my oldest TBR books… I’ve got some that have been around for over four years, and if I really want to read them enough to hang onto them for that long, it’s time to put my reading time where my mouth is.

    Good luck with your goal!

  5. Only four out of twenty-five of the books that I’ve read this year are long-time residents of my own shelves. Part of this is because I’ve been reading with specific events in mind rather than pulling from my own books. But part of it is simply my propensity to reach for the fresh books rather than the once-fresh-but-now-overlooked books. Poor things: I need to make more reading time for them. And not out of pity, but because they’re good books! I love your resolution though: good luck!

  6. Best of luck with the pledge! I’m working on my tbr with the dare as well and finding it slow going – but also really loving the books that I am reading!

  7. Glad you’re signing up, Vasilly. I’ve managed to stick with the Dare with the exception of two library books I read for the Sci-Fi Experience. I am going to stick with it as long as I can!

  8. I just, I just, there are so many good library books for me! Does it count if I acquire a book and then read it that exact instant? That is reading something from my TBR pile, but it is just a book that didn’t spend a lot of TIME on my TBR list.

  9. This is a challenge that that I ALWAYS fail at. Last year, I promised myself to read 12 books from my TBR. I did read 6, which was better than I expected to. But still, 6? Out of the who-knows-how-many-books-are-actually-here on my shelves. Good luck to you! I hope you have better success, even if the deadline is coming soon.

  10. Good luck with your challenge.You can do it. It’s only 7 or less books per month. Stay away from the library and it’ll be no problem for a super reader like you.

  11. I don’t read enough of my TBR books. I get bogged down with the library more than anything else… I had an overload of ILLs this month, but hopefully in March I can get back to my own books!

  12. You only have one TBR list? I don’t actually write the books down because that would be scary, but I do keep about three tbr list in my head.

    1 – books I want to read b/c great reviews/buzz
    2 – books I want to read b/c they look good
    3 – books I want to read to review

    If I am lucky a book will overlap on at least two of the list.

    The Big Machine was great in the beginning but it did lose me towards the end.

  13. I should really join you on this. I’m always tempted by my new books though. I thought I was doing horribly on the TBR Dare, and basically stopped thinking about it. I just looked at my list of books I’ve finished and 8/13 were ones I owned before 2011 and most of them I’ve owned since before October 2010. So hey, not so bad!

  14. Good luck with the challenge – it’s a fantastic idea! I should probably fix myself some kind of similar objective for the next months, too. I know what you mean about overflowing bookcases; it also makes me sad to think that, if I continue this way, I’ll have an infinite amount of books I’ll never even get to touch! (slight exaggeration… I’ll probably touch them when we move out some day…)

  15. Don’t give up, Vasilly! You can do it! I’ve been doing the dare as well and so far doing great. All of my reads so far in 2011 has been from the tbr before the year begun. I was able to purchase 4 books added to the tbr but promised myself I won’t read them until I’m done with the dare in April 1st. :)

  16. good luck! five books sounds good to me!
    i have the exact same problem as you. i have wayyy too many unread books on my bookshelves and i still want to buy more. i’m waiting until spring cleaning so i can figure out what books to keep and which ones to give away.

Comments are closed.