A Late Poetry Wednesday Post

Poetry Wednesday is an awesome meme hosted by someone. Who? I don’t know but I’m thankful that they thought of it. I’m also thankful for bloggers like Lu, Valerie, Carrie, and Serena who remind me how important and beautiful poetry is.

 

Percy and Books (Eight)

Mary Oliver


Percy does not like it when I read a book.

He puts his face over the top of it and moans.

He rolls his eyes, sometimes he sneezes.

The sun is up, he says, and the wind is down.

The tide is out and the neighbor’s dogs are playing.

But Percy, I say, Ideas! The elegance of language!

The insights, the funniness, the beautiful stories

that rise and fall and turn into strength, or courage.

Books? says Percy. I ate one once, and it was enough.

Let’s go.

From the Pulitzer-Prize and National Book Award-winning book, Red Bird.

9 thoughts on “A Late Poetry Wednesday Post

  1. Oh, Mary Oliver!! What a great way to start the morning. Your post has caused me to grab her New and Selected Poems for a little more. And for the record: my kids are often quite Percy-like as well, and my dog has eaten more than one. He’s quite the book-lover.

  2. My favorite poems are the kind that I can understand, and the kind that tugs my heart. The one who have chosen to share does both. I loved it! Now I have to find the collection.

  3. LOVE this! It makes me realize that poetry really is accessible to all!

    I have heard that Mary Oliver is a great place to start if you want an introduction to poetry. This poem has confirmed that advice.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

