It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a meme hosted by the lovely Sheila over at Book Journey.

 

Last week I read:

  • Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty by G. Neri
  • The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown
  • Foster by Claire Keegan
  • Not pictured: Here by Wislawa Szymborska

 

This week’s stack:

  • Changing my Mind: Occasional Essays by Zadie Smith
  • The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson
  • The Best 100 African American Poems by Nikki Giovanni

  • This Book is Overdue by Marilyn Johnson
  • Cinderella Ate My Daughter by Peggy Orenstein

  • The Unsinkable Walker Bean by Aaron Renier
  • Rabbit Hole by David Lindsay-Abaire
  • Your Presence is Requested at Suvanto by Maile Chapman

It’s a pretty ambitious stack but I think I can handle it. What are you reading today?

 

 

31 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. LOVE your ambition. I’m reading a short story collection by Wm Trevor, SHADOW TAG by Louise Erdrich and have put aside Cat in a Diamond Dazzle for sometime later this year. maybe.

  2. Waitaminute. What about Frida? I read a bio of her when they made that movie of her and LOVED it. Fascinating woman. It reminds me that I must carve out more bio reading time.

  3. That IS an ambitious stack! I loved This Book Is Overdue, and it’s a quick read. I started Cinderella Ate My Daughter last night and am really enjoying it so far. I’ll look forward to seeing your reactions!

  4. Wow! That is ambitious, but I know you will get through them all. I am reading The Picture of Dorian Grey, and then I will be reading a book for book club that I am late in reading!

  5. I just read another Yummy review and now I’m seeing it here. I’m really curious about this book. I wonder if my library has it.

    Have a great week!

  6. I hope you’ll share some of the highlights from Nikki Giovanni’s book! I haven’t picked up a poetry book in a while and need to find a good one to get into.

  7. I just finished The Warmth of Other Suns — it’s hefty. I really liked it. I’ll be posting my review on Friday, after my book club talks about it on Thursday night.

  8. I’ve been wanting to read the Zadie Smith book for a while now. I keep seeing it everywhere, so I should just pick it up already.

    This Book Is Overdue and Cinderella Ate My Daughter are also books I want to read.

    I started Lorrie Moore’s “Like Life” (short stories) a couple of nights ago and I love it so far.

  9. Oh! I’m really intrigued by The Weird Sisters, I’ve been wondering whether to pick it up…it looks really good.

    I’m also going to try and squeeze in Cinderella Ate My Daughter!

    Have a fabulous reading week! And thanks for stopping by earlier!

  10. We saw Nikki Giovanni speak last week. She is AWESOME. I’m excited for the book of poetry (she cheated and did more than 100, she said) because she included a lot of new voices.

  11. I’m just getting ready to start The Book is Overdue for the TLC book tour. I look forward to reading it and to hearing your thoughts about it!

Comments are closed.